Top 54 attractions you must visit in North Ayrshire Council
Contents in This Page
About North Ayrshire Council
North Ayrshire is one of 32 council areas in Scotland. It has a population of roughly 135,280 people. It is located in the southwest of Scotland, and borders the areas of Inverclyde to the north, Renfrewshire to the northeast and East Ayrshire and South Ayrshire to the east and south respectively. North Ayrshire Council is a hung Council. North Ayrshire also forms part of the east coast of the Firth of Clyde.
Attractions in North Ayrshire Council
Hunterston Castle was originally situated in an area of marsh, and was defended by a moat and rampart, all of which have now disappeared. It now consists of a rectangular, 16th century, keep, three storeys aand a garret high. A 17th century addition extends to the S, with modern work to the W, the whole forming three sides of a courtyard. The early addition is two storeys and an attic in height, part of it is still occupied. The estate was granted to the Hunters by David I of Scotland in the 12t
Irvine Beach Park is an expanse of greenspace to the south of the mouth of the River Irvine in North Ayrshire. Today there is a fine sandy beach, beach pavilion, a network of paths, large boating pond, picnic area, a maze and a crazy golf course. There are also two significant public art works; namely a stone dragon.
The Irvine Golf Club established 1887, is a fine example of links golf and is regularly used by the R&A as a Final Open Qualifying Course. Set in a seaside location, the neighbouring Gulf Stream ensures year round links golf, whilst the romantic peaks of Arran present a stunning backdrop to the landscape. It was over the links land of Scotland that the game of golf was born and still today the true links experience is unparalleled the world over.
The Isle of Arran Brewery has been producing award winning Beer and Real Ale for over 20 years at it's Cladach site, just North of Brodick. Absorb the sights and smells of the traditional beer-making process, and taste samples of some of the finest beers available today.
Kelburn Castle is a large house near Fairlie, North Ayrshire, Scotland. It is the seat of the Earl of Glasgow. Originally built in the thirteenth century it was remodelled in the sixteenth century. In 1700 the first Earl made further extensions to the house in a manner not unlike a French château which is virtually how it appears today. In 1977 the house and grounds opened to the public as a country park. It is one of the oldest castles in Scotland and has been continuously inhabited by the same
Kerelaw Castle is an altered massive ruined 13th- or 14th-century tower and courtyard, which is much overgrown. It was situated on the coast of North Ayrshire, Scotland in the town of Stevenston. Kerelaw Castle is now a ruin, with three walls surviving in various states of decay. Gothic windows still adorn the southern wall, believed to have been inspired by those at Kilwinning Abbey
Kilbirnie Loch, is a freshwater Loch situated in the floodplain between Kilbirnie, Glengarnock and Beith, North Ayrshire, Scotland. It runs south-west to north-east for almost 2 km, is about 0.5 km wide for the most part and has an area of roughly 3 km2. It has a general depth of around 5.2 metres to a maximum of around 11 metres. The loch is fed mainly by the Maich Water, which rises in the Kilbirnie Hills near Misty Law, and is drained by the Dubbs Water that runs past the Barr Loch into Cast
Kildonan Castle stands in the small village of Kildonan on the southern coast of the Isle of Arran in Scotland. The castle's name is derived from the name of a former resident, Saint Donan, who is said to be buried on the island. It was built in the 13th century by the MacDonalds, the Lords of the Isles. The castle stands on the cliffs, overlooking the island of Pladda and the entrance to the Firth of Clyde. It was built to defend against enemies attacking through the Firth.
Kilwinning Abbey is a Benedictine monastery founded sometime around 1162. A rich, flourishing monastery for 400 years, it once covered several acres. As an incredibly wealthy establishment, the Abbey and its contents proved dangerously attractive to the aristocracy and it is recorded that the Earls of Glencairn and Angus joined forces as early as 1512, entered the abbey precincts, and tried to physically force Abbot William Bunche to resign in favour of the preceptor of Glasgow, John Forman.
King's Cave is the largest of a series of seafront caves north of Blackwaterfoot on the Isle of Arran in Scotland. The caves were formed when melting glaciers resulted in a raised beach due to a process called isostatic rebound. Kilmory Parish church records suggest the cave may have been used for church meetings in the eighteenth century, and it’s also said to have been used as a school. Before being known as the King’s Cave it was known as Fingal's Cave after Fionn mac Cumhaill
A beautiful museum which was run by volunteers from the Largs Historical Society.Since 1975 it has been housed in one of the oldest building in Largs. The museum has displays on the history of the town and the surrounding area, local family history, overseas links especially with Australia, the ship HMS Largs, and so on.
The Pencil was built in 1912, to commemorate the Battle of Largs 1263, when the Scots defeated King Haco of Norway's troops on the shore at Largs, after the 160 long ships got caught in a storm. The Pencil is built of whinstone and stands 70 feet high and is topped by a conical cap. The style is modelled after the round towers at Abernethy and Brechin, wrongly thought by historians at the time to have been built for defence against the Norse.
Law Castle is situated on the lower slopes of Law Hill on the edge of West Kilbride, in North Ayrshire, Scotland. It is around 200 metres from the railway station. The castle is a simple rectangular structure with a sloped roof and several large chimneys protruding at each side. It is similar in character to other tower houses located nearby, including Little Cumbrae Castle and Skelmorlie Castle, and is a category A listed building.
Irish Law is a mountain summit in the The Clyde Muirshiels – Ardrossan to Greenock region in the county of North Ayrshire, Scotland. Irish Law is 484 metres high with a prominence of 80 metres. On the farm road which approaches the peak, there are a number of green huts which are used as holiday dwellings or allotments. Huts of this type were first used as retreats for military servicemen and are now commonly used by families and pensioners, although their number in Scotland has declined.
This beautiful castle sits on a tidal island adjacent to Little Cumbrae House on the east side of the island. It is a plain keep of the 14th century and comparible in the style to nearby Law, Fairlie and Skelmorlie Castles. The present small square castle of Little or Lesser Cumbrae was built by Lord Eglinton in the 16th century, possibly as a base to prevent deer and rabbit poaching; both animals being very common on the main island of Little Cumbrae at the time.
Lochranza Castle is one of three fortifications on the Isle of Arran and is located on the north end of the island upon a gravel spit jutting out into Loch Ranza. The castle originally took the form of a two storey hall house and would have been similar in style to contemporary MacSween strongholds at Skipness and Sween. The entrance was originally on the first floor providing direct access into the Great Hall and the Lordly accommodation. The ground floor consisted of storage.
The award winning Lochranza Distillery is one of two distilleries that you can visit during your trip to the Isle of Arran. Their sister distillery at Lagg is also open for visitors to tour and taste some of the delicious whisky that the island produces. As one of the few independent distilleries in Scotland - and one that proudly follows traditional practice - the team in Lochranza promises a particularly fascinating experience
This rich archaeological landscape includes stone circles, standing stones, burial cairns and cists, as well as hut circles and an extensive field system, all dating to between 3500 and 1500 BC. The stone circles were preceded by elaborate timber circles on exactly the same sites. They were associated with religious activities dating back around 4,500 years. Cremation and inhumation burials were placed in the circles, long after they were first built.
Millport Golf Club is a delightful, unique golf course situated on the Isle of Cumbrae in the Firth of Clyde. This 5,828 yard 18 hole par 68 course offers a challenge for golfers of all abilities. The course opened in 1888 and was redesigned following recommendations by legendary golf architect James Braid in 1913.