14 Iconic Buildings to explore in North Ayrshire Council
North Ayrshire is one of 32 council areas in Scotland. It has a population of roughly 135,280 people. It is located in the southwest of Scotland, and borders the areas of Inverclyde to the north, Renfrewshire to the northeast and East Ayrshire and South Ayrshire to the east and south respectively. North Ayrshire Council is a hung Council. North Ayrshire also forms part of the east coast of the Firth of Clyde.
Ardrossan Castle is situated on the west coast of Scotland in the town of Ardrossan, Ayrshire. The castle, defended by a moat, stands on a ridge above the town. There is a keep dating from the fifteenth century, and a vaulted range containing a kitchen and cellars. In a deep passageway there is a well. Part of the keep remains up to the corbels of the parapet, but it is in ruins. The original castle, owned by Clan Barclay, was partly destroyed during the Wars of Scottish Independence.
Eglinton Castle is a very ruinous old mansion on the site of a castle, once the splendid seat of the Montgomery Earls of Eglinton. At its height it was second only to Culzean Castle in its grandeur and scale. Eglinton is best remembered for the lavish, if ill-fated Eglinton Tournament, a medieval-style tournament organised in 1839 by the 13th Earl. It was now one of the famous attraction in this area.
Glengarnock Castle is an example of a keep with courtyard attached, of the period 1400-1542, and with various later buildings in the courtyard. The Barony of Glengarnock is one of three feudal baronies which together form the parish of Kilbirnie in the district of Cunningham which lies in north Ayrshire. The River Garnock flows through the village of the same name 4 kilometres (2.5 mi) to the south, but the name Glen Garnock applies more specifically to the ravine at Glengarnock Castle.
Hunterston Castle was originally situated in an area of marsh, and was defended by a moat and rampart, all of which have now disappeared. It now consists of a rectangular, 16th century, keep, three storeys aand a garret high. A 17th century addition extends to the S, with modern work to the W, the whole forming three sides of a courtyard. The early addition is two storeys and an attic in height, part of it is still occupied. The estate was granted to the Hunters by David I of Scotland in the 12t
Kelburn Castle is a large house near Fairlie, North Ayrshire, Scotland. It is the seat of the Earl of Glasgow. Originally built in the thirteenth century it was remodelled in the sixteenth century. In 1700 the first Earl made further extensions to the house in a manner not unlike a French château which is virtually how it appears today. In 1977 the house and grounds opened to the public as a country park. It is one of the oldest castles in Scotland and has been continuously inhabited by the same
Kerelaw Castle is an altered massive ruined 13th- or 14th-century tower and courtyard, which is much overgrown. It was situated on the coast of North Ayrshire, Scotland in the town of Stevenston. Kerelaw Castle is now a ruin, with three walls surviving in various states of decay. Gothic windows still adorn the southern wall, believed to have been inspired by those at Kilwinning Abbey
Kildonan Castle stands in the small village of Kildonan on the southern coast of the Isle of Arran in Scotland. The castle's name is derived from the name of a former resident, Saint Donan, who is said to be buried on the island. It was built in the 13th century by the MacDonalds, the Lords of the Isles. The castle stands on the cliffs, overlooking the island of Pladda and the entrance to the Firth of Clyde. It was built to defend against enemies attacking through the Firth.
Law Castle is situated on the lower slopes of Law Hill on the edge of West Kilbride, in North Ayrshire, Scotland. It is around 200 metres from the railway station. The castle is a simple rectangular structure with a sloped roof and several large chimneys protruding at each side. It is similar in character to other tower houses located nearby, including Little Cumbrae Castle and Skelmorlie Castle, and is a category A listed building.
This beautiful castle sits on a tidal island adjacent to Little Cumbrae House on the east side of the island. It is a plain keep of the 14th century and comparible in the style to nearby Law, Fairlie and Skelmorlie Castles. The present small square castle of Little or Lesser Cumbrae was built by Lord Eglinton in the 16th century, possibly as a base to prevent deer and rabbit poaching; both animals being very common on the main island of Little Cumbrae at the time.
Lochranza Castle is one of three fortifications on the Isle of Arran and is located on the north end of the island upon a gravel spit jutting out into Loch Ranza. The castle originally took the form of a two storey hall house and would have been similar in style to contemporary MacSween strongholds at Skipness and Sween. The entrance was originally on the first floor providing direct access into the Great Hall and the Lordly accommodation. The ground floor consisted of storage.
Portencross Castle, also known historically as Portincross Castle, is situated in Portencross, on the west coast of Scotland, about 3 km from West Kilbride. The site has been fortified since the 11th Century. The present tower castle is thought to date from the mid-14th Century and later. It remained in use until it was unroofed by a great storm in 1739 and gradually became ruinous. The castle was designated as a scheduled ancient monument in 1955.
Seagate Castle is a fortified mansion built by Hugh Montgomerie, the 3rd earl of Eglinton in 1565. It is the third castle on this site near the River Irvine and is the oldest structure in Irvine. The castle overlooks the oldest street in Irvine, which was once the main route between the town and the old harbour at Seagatefoot, which by 1606, was useless and abandoned due to silting. The remains of the castle are protected as a scheduled ancient monument.
Stanecastle was a medieval barony and estate in North Ayrshire, Scotland, first mentioned in 1363 and now part of the Irvine New Town project. Its nearest neighbours are Bourtreehill and Girdle Toll. In the middle-ages, Stanecastle gave way to the ever expanding Eglinton Empire and William Francis of Stane passed his estate on to the Earls of Eglinton in the 15th century. Campbell states that the present castle was built in 1520 by Montgomerie of Greenfield, a cadet branch.
The Barony Centre is a stunning conversion of an old church and winner of several architectural awards. It was set within a wonderfully restored church, The Barony Centre boasts an impressive Exhibition space; 2 upstairs studios and a meeting room that are available to hire; a Gallery Shop offering an eclectic range of work by local and national Makers and Artists; and an award winning Cafe.