Attapeu Province - 2 Attractions You Must Visit


About Attapeu Province

Attapeu is a province of Laos in the southeast of the country. It has five districts: Samakkixay, Xaysetha, Sanamxay, Sanxay, and Phouvong, covering an area of 10,320 square kilometreswith a population of 127,285. Its capital city lies at Attapeu . It was known as the "land of heroism". There are two biodiversity areas: Dong Ampham Forest and Xepaine Forest.

Types of Attractions in Attapeu Province

Activities Around

List of Attractions in Attapeu Province

Dong Hua Sao National Bio-Diversity Conservation Area

Dong Hua Sao covers an area of 1,100 sq km. This protected area is located in the province of Champasak within the districts of Bachieng . The lowland plains comprise over half of the protective area with the elevation ranging from 100 to 1000 m. The area’s vegetation consists mainly of evergreen forest in the lowlands and the uplands with dry dipterocarp forest and mixed deciduous forest. It is one of the conservative area of a wide range of wildlife.

Nong Fa Lake

Nong Fa Lake

Lake/ River/ Ponds

Nong Fa Lake or Nongphatom Lake (meaning Blue lake) is a volcanic crater lake in the mountains of Sanxay District, Attapeu Province, southeastern Laos, located within the Dong Ampham National Biodiversity Conservation Area, about 12 kilometres from the Vietnamese border.

Map of attractions in Attapeu Province


For more information about Attapeu Province, visit: