Wat Niwet Thammaprawat Ratchaworawihan
บางปะอิน Tambon Ban Len, Amphoe Bang Pa-in, Chang Wat Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya 13160, Thailand
About Wat Niwet Thammaprawat Ratchaworawihan
Wat Niwet Thammaprawat was built in 1876 in the reign of King Rama V, the first Thai king who visited Europe. This Gothic-style buddhist temple on a small island served as a royal temple when the King and his family spent their summer in the nearby Bang Pa-in Palace. Several European style buildings were also constructed in the compound. They are currently used as library, offices, monk residences, and also a school where novices and monks receive their formal and religious education.
Attractions near Wat Niwet Thammaprawat Ratchaworawihan
Bang Pa-In Royal Palace, also known as the Summer Palace, is a palace complex formerly used by the Thai kings. It lies beside the Chao Phraya River, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya Province. King Prasat Thong constructed the original complex in 1632, but it fell into disuse and became overgrown in the late 18th and early 19th centuries until King Mongkut began to restore the site in the mid-19th century. Most of the present buildings were constructed between 1872 and 1889 by King Chulalongkorn.
Wat Phanan Choeng is famous for its enormous seated Buddha image, considered to be one of the most beautiful in the country. According to legend tears shed from the eyes of the image just before the destruction of Ayutthaya by the Burmese in 1767. The temple is located on the banks of the Pa Sak river opposite the South East tip of the historical island. From a riverboat you will have great views of the monastery.
Wat Yai Chai Mongkol (or Mongkhon) is located a few kilometers southeast of Ayutthaya (island). You'll have to cross the Pridithamrong bridge out of the city. It obviously is one of the major temples in the Ayutthaya area, and both tourists and local worshippers visit the wat. Logistically, visiting this temple can be well combined with a visit to Wat Phanan Choeng
The Golden Jubilee Museum of Agriculture is situated in Tambon Khlong Nueng, opposite the Nava Nakorn Industrial Promotion Zone. It displays the story on agriculture through modern technology and models, covering every aspect of the agricultural process such as land development, forestry, fishery, animal husbandry, and ecological system while outside are the greenhouses, demonstrating rice fields, and a presentation of the farmers’ lifestyles in every region of Thailand.
This monastery was constructed in 1350 as a royal temple inside the Grand Palace compound where some former kings lived when Ayutthaya was the capital of Siam. The three iconic bell-shaped pagodas on a high platform contain the ashes of three great Ayutthaya kings. As it was a royal temple and used only for royal ceremonies, there was no residential quarter for monks. The same tradition applies to the current royal temple, Wat Phra Kaew, in Bangkok.
The Historic City of Ayutthaya, founded in 1350, was the second capital of the Siamese Kingdom. It flourished from the 14th to the 18th centuries, during which time it grew to be one of the world’s largest and most cosmopolitan urban areas and a center of global diplomacy and commerce. At present, it is located in Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya District, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya Province. The total area of the World Heritage property is 289 ha.
Where is Wat Niwet Thammaprawat Ratchaworawihan
Discover more attractions in Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, where Wat Niwet Thammaprawat Ratchaworawihan is located
Ayutthaya is one of Thailand’s historical and majestic highlights of Thailand. Ayutthaya was the capital of Thailand for 417 years. Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya features numerous attractions such as the Ayutthaya Historical Park(UNESCO World Heritage site.) and many old ruins.