Wat Phra Si Sanphet
Pratu Chai Sub-district, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya District, Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya 13000, Thailand
This monastery was constructed in 1350 as a royal temple inside the Grand Palace compound where some former kings lived when Ayutthaya was the capital of Siam. The three iconic bell-shaped pagodas on a high platform contain the ashes of three great Ayutthaya kings. As it was a royal temple and used only for royal ceremonies, there was no residential quarter for monks. The same tradition applies to the current royal temple, Wat Phra Kaew, in Bangkok.
Location of Wat Phra Si Sanphet