No 5 Vicars’ Hill - 4 Things to Know Before Visiting
About No 5 Vicars’ Hill
No 5 was built in 1772 as the Diocesan Registry by Archbishop Richard Robinson as part of his plans for the improvement of the City of Armagh. From the outside No 5 looks no different from the houses on either side. However, its small hallway opens into two beautiful, octagonal rooms with vaulted ceilings. The building used to hold records for the Church of Ireland and Armagh Diocese: the octagonal rooms contained many public as well as Church records.
Hotels near No 5 Vicars’ Hill
Checkout accommodations closest to No 5 Vicars’ Hill
Top Trips and Tours in Ireland
Tours and activities in Ireland that might be of interest to you
Attractions Near No 5 Vicars’ Hill
St Patrick's Church of Ireland Cathedral
0.04km from No 5 Vicars’ Hill
St. Patrick's Cathedral in Armagh, Northern Ireland is the seat of the Catholic Archbishop of Armagh, Primate of All Ireland. It was built in various phases between 1840 and 1904 to serve as the Roman Catholic Cathedral of the Archdiocese of Armagh, the original Medieval Cathedral of St. Patrick having been appropriated by the state church called the Church of Ireland at the time of the Irish Reformation.
Armagh Robinson Library
0.05km from No 5 Vicars’ Hill
This is the oldest library in Northern Ireland, founded in 1771 by Archbishop Richard Robinson as part of his plans to establish a university. Carved in stone above the Library’s public entrance is the original Greek inscription meaning “the healing place of the soul”, a message that still resonates today. There are some 42,000 printed works, covering subjects such as early medicine, science, history, law, politics, theology and travel, as well as maps and atlases.
Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum
0.45km from No 5 Vicars’ Hill
The Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum is a military museum based in Sovereign's House at Armagh, Northern Ireland. The museum is a Grade B listed building. The collection includes the Victoria Crosses awarded to Private Robert Morrow and to Lieutenant Geoffrey Cather of the Royal Irish Fusiliers on the Western Front during the First World War.
Saint Patrick's Way: The Pilgrim Walk
0.46km from No 5 Vicars’ Hill
Saint Patrick’s Way: The Pilgrims Walk is an 82 mile signed walking trail connecting key Christian Heritage sites between Armagh and Downpatrick. The trail is suitable for walkers and pilgrimages. The Walk begins at the Navan Centre outside the ancient city of Armagh winding through beautiful landscapes and historic cities, to end at Saint Patrick’s final resting place at Down Cathedral in Downpatrick.
Palace Demesne Public Park
0.49km from No 5 Vicars’ Hill
This is an idela place to visit as it is a walking distance from the city. This 200 year old parkland is a great place to take the family as it contains a playpark, outdoor gym and many different walks.
Armagh County Museum
0.52km from No 5 Vicars’ Hill
This is one of the oldest county museum in Ireland is set in Armagh’s beautiful Georgian tree lined Mall. Located near the centre of St Patrick’s cathedral city, a visit to Armagh County Museum is an ideal way to experience a flavour of the orchard county. Its collections ranging from local history and fine art to archaeology and natural history, this is the ideal place to experience a flavour of the famous ‘orchard county’.