Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum - 4 Things to Know Before Visiting
About Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum
The Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum is a military museum based in Sovereign's House at Armagh, Northern Ireland. The museum is a Grade B listed building. The collection includes the Victoria Crosses awarded to Private Robert Morrow and to Lieutenant Geoffrey Cather of the Royal Irish Fusiliers on the Western Front during the First World War.
Hotels near Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum
Checkout accommodations closest to Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum
Attractions Near Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum
Armagh County Museum
0.22km from Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum
This is one of the oldest county museum in Ireland is set in Armagh’s beautiful Georgian tree lined Mall. Located near the centre of St Patrick’s cathedral city, a visit to Armagh County Museum is an ideal way to experience a flavour of the orchard county. Its collections ranging from local history and fine art to archaeology and natural history, this is the ideal place to experience a flavour of the famous ‘orchard county’.
Armagh Observatory and Planetarium
0.25km from Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum
The Armagh Observatory and Planetarium is Northern Ireland’s leading astronomical research and education facility. It offers visitors a unique experience which makes it “the place for space”.There are scale models of the Solar System and the Universe, two sundials and historic telescopes, as well as telescope domes and other outdoor exhibits.
0.3km from Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum
Armagh Observatory is an astronomical research institute in Armagh, Northern Ireland. Around 25 astronomers are based at the observatory, studying stellar astrophysics, the Sun, Solar System astronomy and Earth's climate. A Troughton refracting telescope of 2.5 inch aperture was installed in a dome in 1795. The telescope was manufactured by J & E Troughton of London, and is noted for its late 18th century brass metal work.
Armagh Robinson Library
0.41km from Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum
This is the oldest library in Northern Ireland, founded in 1771 by Archbishop Richard Robinson as part of his plans to establish a university. Carved in stone above the Library’s public entrance is the original Greek inscription meaning “the healing place of the soul”, a message that still resonates today. There are some 42,000 printed works, covering subjects such as early medicine, science, history, law, politics, theology and travel, as well as maps and atlases.
St Patrick's Church of Ireland Cathedral
0.42km from Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum
St. Patrick's Cathedral in Armagh, Northern Ireland is the seat of the Catholic Archbishop of Armagh, Primate of All Ireland. It was built in various phases between 1840 and 1904 to serve as the Roman Catholic Cathedral of the Archdiocese of Armagh, the original Medieval Cathedral of St. Patrick having been appropriated by the state church called the Church of Ireland at the time of the Irish Reformation.
No 5 Vicars’ Hill
0.45km from Royal Irish Fusiliers Museum
No 5 was built in 1772 as the Diocesan Registry by Archbishop Richard Robinson as part of his plans for the improvement of the City of Armagh. From the outside No 5 looks no different from the houses on either side. However, its small hallway opens into two beautiful, octagonal rooms with vaulted ceilings. The building used to hold records for the Church of Ireland and Armagh Diocese: the octagonal rooms contained many public as well as Church records.