Top 27 attractions to explore in Armagh
County Armagh is one of the thirty-two counties of Ireland and one of six counties of Northern Ireland. There are so many attractions to explore and also it is one of the historical localities in this area.
The Archbishop’s Palace, Armagh, Northern Ireland, is a landmark Neo-Classical building located on 300 acres of parkland just south of the centre of the city. The building served as primary residence of the Church of Ireland Archbishops of Armagh for over two hundred years, from 1770 to 1975, and thereafter as headquarters of Armagh City and District Council from then until April 2015 when that local authority was replaced following the reform of local government.
The Archdiocese of Armagh is an Irish Roman Catholic archdiocese. The ordinary is the Roman Catholic Archbishop of Armagh who is also the Metropolitan of the Ecclesiastical province of Armagh and the Primate of All Ireland. The mother church is St Patrick's Cathedral. The claim of the archdiocese to pre-eminence in Ireland as the primatial see rests upon its traditional establishment by Saint Patrick circa 445. It was recognised as a metropolitan province in 1152 by the Synod of Kells.
This is one of the oldest county museum in Ireland is set in Armagh’s beautiful Georgian tree lined Mall. Located near the centre of St Patrick’s cathedral city, a visit to Armagh County Museum is an ideal way to experience a flavour of the orchard county. Its collections ranging from local history and fine art to archaeology and natural history, this is the ideal place to experience a flavour of the famous ‘orchard county’.
Armagh Observatory is an astronomical research institute in Armagh, Northern Ireland. Around 25 astronomers are based at the observatory, studying stellar astrophysics, the Sun, Solar System astronomy and Earth's climate. A Troughton refracting telescope of 2.5 inch aperture was installed in a dome in 1795. The telescope was manufactured by J & E Troughton of London, and is noted for its late 18th century brass metal work.
The Armagh Observatory and Planetarium is Northern Ireland’s leading astronomical research and education facility. It offers visitors a unique experience which makes it “the place for space”.There are scale models of the Solar System and the Universe, two sundials and historic telescopes, as well as telescope domes and other outdoor exhibits.
This is the oldest library in Northern Ireland, founded in 1771 by Archbishop Richard Robinson as part of his plans to establish a university. Carved in stone above the Library’s public entrance is the original Greek inscription meaning “the healing place of the soul”, a message that still resonates today. There are some 42,000 printed works, covering subjects such as early medicine, science, history, law, politics, theology and travel, as well as maps and atlases.
Benburb Castle was built in the 1610's by Sir Richard Wingfield during the Plantation. It was probably built on the site of an earlier stronghold of Shane Oâ€™Neill, on a cliff above a bend in the Blackwater River; the border between the counties of Tyrone and Armagh. It was then called the Wingfield Bawn. The castle has been restored and stands in the grounds of the imposing Servite Priory, a religious order based in the village.
The park is a large open space with walks located on either side of the River Blackwater. The site is renowned for the Battle of Benburb and has a ruined castle located on the grounds. The riverside walks are clothed in mature woodland and provide an excellent opportunity to view rapids as the Blackwater charges through the valley. There are footbridges which provide access to the Canoe Trail downstream.
Brantry Lough is situated north of Creevelough, west of Oona Water. It is a great spot for outdoor recreation. The waters provide high class brown trout fishing with takeable trout stocked throughout the season. It is one of the iconic location for a picnic and also you can spend some good time here.
Dan Winter’s House is located at the Diamond near the small town of Loughgall in County Armagh and is run by Hilda Winter who has maintained the cottage in its original condition. This small cottage museum is one of the hidden gems we come across from time to time, full of history and a place to see in Co Armagh. The Winter family lived in the house right up until the 1950s, and today its rooms are crammed with Orange & Winter ephemera.
This is a 19th-century country house situated in Gosford, a townland of Markethill, County Armagh, Northern Ireland. It was built for The 2nd Earl of Gosford, and designed in the Norman revival style by London architect Thomas Hopper. It is a Grade A listed building,and is said to be Ulster's largest. The Earls of Gosford occupied the castle until 1921, and the estate was later purchased by the Ministry of Agriculture to form Gosford Forest Park.
A majestic forest park comprises some 240 hectares of diverse woodland and open parkland. It is managed by Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon Borough Council and is open 365 days per year. The park highlights include a magnificent herd of red deer and seeing them up close, even if it isn’t your first time, will still catch your breath! The excitement continues with the park’s new 3km woodland outdoor play area featuring five unique superstructures, an adventure for all your little giants!
Loughgall Country Park is a rural haven of relaxation and recreation. A diverse spectrum of activities ranging from golf to walking, fishing to tennis make this spacious complex a mecca for families, sports enthusiasts and those merely in search of a helping of tranquility. The emphasis, indeed, is very much on family pursuits. Walking, cycling, a children’s play area, golf, fishing, an adventure trail, trim trail, football pitch and tennis courts are just some of the amenities on offer.
A majestic country park located five miles from the M1 Motorway, this Park provides an oasis of calm in the village of Maghery. Situated on the shores of Lough Neagh, the Park covers an area of 30 acres comprising 5km of woodland walks and picnic areas in natural surroundings. It is excellent for birdwatching, fishing and walking. There are foot paths around the shore of the island with lots of interesting things to see.
Milford House was the one of its age. The most technologically advanced house in 19th century Ireland - the first in Ireland to be lit with hydro electricity. The creation of Robert Garmany McCrum, self made industrialist, benefactor and inventor who revolutionized the linen industry. His son William invented the penalty kick rule in football and his daughter Harriette was a founding member of the women’s suffragette movement in Ireland.
This handsome Irish gentry house is surrounded by its 130-hectare wooded riverside estate. The former home of the MacGeough Bond family, a tour of this neo-classical masterpiece reveals it is unchanged since 1900 – the eclectic interior still evoking the family's tastes and interests. Outside there are sweeping vistas, superb spring bulbs, scenic walks and fascinating courtyard displays.
The Newry Canal, located in Northern Ireland, was built to link the Tyrone coalfields to the Irish Sea at Carlingford Lough near Newry. It was the first summit level canal to be built in Ireland or Great Britain. The Newry Canal Way is a 20 mile long distance route running from Portadown to Newry along the restored towpath of the former Newry Canal. This linear walk/cycle route provides a flat, level surface suitable for all.
No 5 was built in 1772 as the Diocesan Registry by Archbishop Richard Robinson as part of his plans for the improvement of the City of Armagh. From the outside No 5 looks no different from the houses on either side. However, its small hallway opens into two beautiful, octagonal rooms with vaulted ceilings. The building used to hold records for the Church of Ireland and Armagh Diocese: the octagonal rooms contained many public as well as Church records.
Map of attractions in Armagh