20 Attractions to Explore Near Broughty Castle Museum

Activities Around

Vector image of nearby attractions

Attractions & Activities Near You

Checkout attractions and activities near your current location

All attractions near Broughty Castle Museum

Broughty Ferry Beach

Broughty Ferry Beach

0.61km from Broughty Castle Museum

This broad sandy beach at the mouth of the Tay estuary lies just to the east of the impressive Broughty Castle. As its name suggests Broughty Ferry was once a ferry port. Before the completion of the first Tay Rail. Easy access from a promenade, a nature conservation site and great views across the Tay estuary to the North Fife coast.

Barnhill Rock Garden

Barnhill Rock Garden

1.7km from Broughty Castle Museum

The Barnhill Rock Garden is an award winning public park extending to more than two hectares. This beautiful garden boasts a wonderful array of alpines, shrubs, woodland and waterside planting with spectacular views across the River Tay. Over the years it was extended eastwards over areas which had been sand dunes, and rock from a local quarry was used to form a large part of the Garden. It is a gently undulating south sloping informal garden, with an outlook over the Firth of Tay.

Claypotts Castle

Claypotts Castle

1.93km from Broughty Castle Museum

Claypotts Castle is a well-preserved Z-plan tower house. It consists of a rectangular main block of three storeys and a garret, and two large round towers, crowned with square gabled chambers, at opposite corners. Now surrounded by modern housing, the castle is maintained as an Ancient Monument by Historic Environment Scotland.

Dawson Park

Dawson Park

2.05km from Broughty Castle Museum

A beautiful park which has feature plantings, a sunken garden, and a formal cherry avenue along the north axis, which is particularly stunning in spring. It is still a focus for sport in the East end of the city, with numerous pitches of both natural grass and artificial, tennis and basketball courts, a bowling club and various changing facilities.

Blue Seaway Monifieth

Blue Seaway Monifieth

3.91km from Broughty Castle Museum

Monifieth's Blue Seaway is an outdoor recreation on the seafront. It has lots on offer for children including putting, tennis courts, bowling green, and a wheeled sports area with half pipe and skatepark. The scenic surroundings offer many opportunities to enjoy the outdoors at any time of year.

Monifieth Beach

Monifieth Beach

4.01km from Broughty Castle Museum

Monifieth is a beautiful long, sandy beach looking out over the Firth of Tay, with views across towards the southern side. It has a number of sea defences, with wooden groynes becoming exposed at low tide. A number of rocks are also exposed, providing an opportunity to explore the pools around them them for signs of wildlife.

Tentsmuir National Nature Reserve

Tentsmuir National Nature Reserve

4.08km from Broughty Castle Museum

Tentsmuir National Nature Reserve is located southeast of Tayport in Fife, Scotland. The reserve is made up of three parts, encompassing Morton Lochs, Tentsmuir Point and Tayport Heath, and is managed by NatureScot. The different sections of Tentsmuir NNR were originally designated as separate national nature reserves at different times: the Morton Lochs section was designated in 1952; Tentsmuir Point in 1954; and Tayport Heath in 1988

Tentsmuir National Nature Reserve (Morton Lochs)

Tentsmuir National Nature Reserve (Morton Lochs)

4.84km from Broughty Castle Museum

Tentsmuir National Nature Reserve is located southeast of Tayport in Fife, Scotland. The reserve is made up of three parts, encompassing Morton Lochs, Tentsmuir Point and Tayport Heath, and is managed by NatureScot. The different sections of Tentsmuir NNR were originally designated as separate national nature reserves at different times: the Morton Lochs section was designated in 1952; Tentsmuir Point in 1954; and Tayport Heath in 1988.

Tay Road Bridge

Tay Road Bridge

4.93km from Broughty Castle Museum

The Tay Road Bridge carries the A92 road across the Firth of Tay from Newport-on-Tay in Fife to Dundee in Scotland, just downstream of the Tay Rail Bridge. At around 2,250 metres, it is one of the longest road bridges in Europe, and was opened in 1966, replacing the old Tay ferry. The bridge consists of 42 spans with a navigation channel located closer to the Fife side. During the construction of the bridge, 140,000 tons of concrete, 4,600 tons of mild steel and 8,150 tons of structural steel wa

Dundee Museum of Transport

Dundee Museum of Transport

4.93km from Broughty Castle Museum

The Dundee Museum of Transport, located in Dundee, Scotland is a self-sustaining Scottish Charitable Organisation. The museum has a collection of historical items covering transport in Dundee and across Scotland. The museum offers four halls of artefacts from buses and trams used on local routes, motorbikes, pushbikes and cars from throughout the centuries and models of different ships and trains. There is also a gift shop and a café.

Baxter Park

Baxter Park

4.98km from Broughty Castle Museum

Baxter Park is one of Dundee's many parks and it is fair to say that it is perhaps one of the best tended to as its always a beautiful and clean space. The 38 acre park donated to the citizens of Dundee by Sir David Baxter and his two sisters Mary Ann and Eleanor and was constructed over two areas of ground, the lower Park being a field and the upper, a disused quarry, which was filled in for use as a part of the construction.

Tentsmuir Forest

Tentsmuir Forest

5.15km from Broughty Castle Museum

Tentsmuir Forest is in north east Fife, Scotland. Covering some 5 square miles, the forest was originally sand dunes and moorland before acquisition by the Forestry Commission in the 1920s. The forest consists mainly of Scots pine and Corsican pine, and is now owned by Forestry and Land Scotland, successor body to the Forestry Commission.

HMS Unicorn

HMS Unicorn

5.41km from Broughty Castle Museum

Originally constructed as a 46-gun frigate at Chatham Royal Dockyard, Unicorn arrived in Dundee in 1873 as a training ship for the Royal Naval Reserves – a role she carried out until the 1960s. She is the oldest ship in Scotland, one of the six oldest ships in the world, and one of the last intact warships from the age of sail.

Ardestie Earth House

Ardestie Earth House

5.47km from Broughty Castle Museum

Ardestie Earth Houseis an example of an earth house or souterrain, ancient underground structures common to the British Isles and Brittany. This is one of the largest and most complex examples of its kind in Scotland. It was accidentally discovered during ploughing in 1949. Subsequent excavations during the following two years also revealed about eight associated stone dwellings at ground level.

Olympia

Olympia

5.71km from Broughty Castle Museum

Olympia is Dundee's state-of-the-art swimming and leisure centre. You can try out the flumes with their special effect lighting, the Cannonball with its 3.8m drop into the water and then ride the Rapid River. Plus, with the 50m pool for those looking for a relaxing swim, the toddler pool with its fun interactive features, fully equipped fitness studio and cafe.

Mains Castle

Mains Castle

5.95km from Broughty Castle Museum

Mains Castle is a 16th-century castle in Dundee, Scotland. The castle consists of several buildings surrounding a courtyard, although several of the original western buildings no longer exist. The northern and eastern buildings are where the family would have lived, with the servants occupying the southern quarters. The castle also has a large, six-floor, square tower house with dressed cornerstones, which is typical of 16th-century construction. It is a Category A listed building

Dundee Waterfront Gardens

Dundee Waterfront Gardens

5.96km from Broughty Castle Museum

This is a multi-functional space comprising two central lawns surrounded by smaller, more intimate ‘pocket gardens’. As well as being a space to relax in, the park is also a popular venue for events ranging from pop concerts to Christmas markets and peaceful yoga sessions.

St Paul's Episcopal Cathedral

St Paul's Episcopal Cathedral

6.02km from Broughty Castle Museum

St. Paul's Cathedral is an Anglican cathedral in the city of Dundee, Scotland. It is the cathedral and administrative centre of the Diocese of Brechin in the Scottish Episcopal Church. Like most city centre churches, the Cathedral is a gathered congregation and incredibly diverse. Made up of all ages, it is truly international due to its proximity to the city’s two universities.

Desperate Dan Statue

Desperate Dan Statue

6.13km from Broughty Castle Museum

The Desperate Dan statue sits at 8 feet tall and is made from bronze. It can be found in the city centre shopping area. It was unveiled by the children of the Dundee High Street school. The statue is the work of Angus-based artists Tony and Susie Morrow, and was funded from public and private sources.

Dundee

Dundee

6.17km from Broughty Castle Museum

V&A Dundee is a design museum in Dundee, Scotland, which opened on 15 September 2018.[3][4] The V&A Dundee is the first design museum in Scotland and the first Victoria and Albert museum outside London. The V&A Dundee is also the first building in the United Kingdom designed by Kengo Kuma.

Map of attractions near Broughty Castle Museum

Hotels near Broughty Castle Museum

Hotels to stay near Broughty Castle Museum

Stars:

Guest rating:

Exceptional

Stars:

Guest rating:

Exceptional

Stars:

Guest rating:

Excellent

Stars:

Guest rating:

Excellent

Know more about Broughty Castle Museum

Broughty Castle Museum

Broughty Castle Museum

Castle Approach, Broughty Ferry, Ferry, Dundee DD5 2TF, UK

Broughty Castle Museum houses fascinating displays on the life and times of Broughty Ferry, its people, the environment and the wildlife that live close by. It was completed around 1495, although the site was earlier fortified in 1454 when George Douglas, 4th Earl of Angus received permission to build on the site. His son Archibald Douglas, 5th Earl of Angus was coerced into ceding the castle to the crown. The main tower house forming the centre of the castle with four floors was built by Andrew