Muiravonside Country Park - 4 Things to Know Before Visiting
About Muiravonside Country Park
Muiravonside is Falkirk’s only Country Park, providing 170 acres of stunning woodland and parkland, a mini demonstration farm, a sculpture trail, children’s play area and a café at the Visitor Hub courtyard. The park is free to access all year round and offers spectacular scenery accessible through a network of paths. The site is managed by Falkirk Community Trust.
Hotels near Muiravonside Country Park
Hotels to stay near Muiravonside Country Park
Attractions Near Muiravonside Country Park
0.38km from Muiravonside Country Park
This is the second largest aqueduct in Britain and the largest in Scotland. It measures 247m long, 25.9m high and 7.2 m wide. All three aqueducts on the canal use the same construction of hollow stone piers and arches spanning 50 ft. The water is channeled over in an iron trough. The canal's engineer Hugh Baird consulted Thomas Telford over this innovative design. There are canal boat trips to the aqueduct from Linlithgow.
2.05km from Muiravonside Country Park
Almond Castle is a ruined L-plan castle dating from the 15th century. It is located 3 miles west of Linlithgow, and north of the Union Canal, in Falkirk, Scotland. It was known as Haining Castle until the 17th century. The structure is unsound and is protected as a scheduled monument. The ruin has a vaulted basement. The hall was on the first floor, while there is a kitchen in the wing. There is a courtyard, with a wall and ditch, enclosing the remains of 16th-century buildings.
2.6km from Muiravonside Country Park
Cockleroi or Cockleroy is a prominent hill in Scotland. It is Linlithgow's local hill. At its summit is a Bronze-Age hill fort known as Wallace's Bed or Wallace's Cradle, which is very similar in structure to another on the nearby Bowden Hill. Also at the summit are an Ordnance Survey triangulation pillar and a geographical indicator.
Torphichen Preceptory Historic Scotland
2.94km from Muiravonside Country Park
Torphichen Preceptory is an unusual remnant of a little known corner of Scottish history. It comprises the tower and the two transepts of the church associated with the Preceptory of the Knights Hospitaller of the Order of St John of Jerusalem. The Order maintained just two such establishments in Britain, the other being in London.
3.69km from Muiravonside Country Park
The 12th century ‘refuge stone’ marks the boundary of Torphichen which was held by the Knights of St John Hospitallers of Jerusalem where they established a Preceptory in 1124. It is one of a number of surviving boundary stones around the village. West Lothian Council worked in partnership with Historic Environment Scotland to carry out the £1000 restoration project.
Beecraigs Country Park
3.94km from Muiravonside Country Park
A beautiful 370 hectare Country Park located in the Bathgate Hills near historic Linlithgow town. One of three Country Parks in West Lothian, sister Parks are Almondell & Calderwood and Polkemmet Country Parks. It is the largest of West Lothian's 3 Country Parks and offers miles of woodland paths and trails to explore by foot, bike or horse as well as a wide range of leisure and recreational opportunities.
Discover More Attractions in Falkirk, Home of Muiravonside Country Park
Falkirk is one of 32 unitary authority council areas of Scotland. It was formed on 1 April 1996 by way of the Local Government etc. Act 1994 from the exact boundaries of Falkirk District, one of three parts of the Central region created in 1975, which was abolished at that time. Prior to the 1975 reorganisation, the majority of the council area was part of the historic county of Stirlingshire, and a small part, namely Bo'ness and Blackness, was part of the former county of West Lothian.