Refuge Stone - 4 Things to Know Before Visiting
About Refuge Stone
The 12th century ‘refuge stone’ marks the boundary of Torphichen which was held by the Knights of St John Hospitallers of Jerusalem where they established a Preceptory in 1124. It is one of a number of surviving boundary stones around the village. West Lothian Council worked in partnership with Historic Environment Scotland to carry out the £1000 restoration project.
Hotels near Refuge Stone
Checkout accommodations closest to Refuge Stone
Attractions Near Refuge Stone
1.06km from Refuge Stone
Cairnpapple Hill is a hill with a dominating position in central lowland Scotland with views from coast to coast. It was used and re-used as a major ritual site over about 4000 years, and in its day would have been comparable to better known sites like the Standing Stones of Stenness. The summit lies 312 m above sea level, and is about 2 miles north of Bathgate. In the 19th century the site was completely concealed by trees, then in 1947–1948 excavations by Stuart Piggott found a series of ritua
1.62km from Refuge Stone
Cockleroi or Cockleroy is a prominent hill in Scotland. It is Linlithgow's local hill. At its summit is a Bronze-Age hill fort known as Wallace's Bed or Wallace's Cradle, which is very similar in structure to another on the nearby Bowden Hill. Also at the summit are an Ordnance Survey triangulation pillar and a geographical indicator.
Torphichen Preceptory Historic Scotland
2.2km from Refuge Stone
Torphichen Preceptory is an unusual remnant of a little known corner of Scottish history. It comprises the tower and the two transepts of the church associated with the Preceptory of the Knights Hospitaller of the Order of St John of Jerusalem. The Order maintained just two such establishments in Britain, the other being in London.
Beecraigs Country Park
2.44km from Refuge Stone
A beautiful 370 hectare Country Park located in the Bathgate Hills near historic Linlithgow town. One of three Country Parks in West Lothian, sister Parks are Almondell & Calderwood and Polkemmet Country Parks. It is the largest of West Lothian's 3 Country Parks and offers miles of woodland paths and trails to explore by foot, bike or horse as well as a wide range of leisure and recreational opportunities.
2.49km from Refuge Stone
Beecraigs Loch, was built by German Prisoners of War. They were based in a work camp and had been sent from Stobs Camp near Hawick. Clay and stone was used to build the dam wall, this stone was quarried from Riccarton Hill and brought down the slopes to the site using a winch-powered railway. By 1918 the 8 hectare reservoir, holding 82 million gallons of water, began serving as a local water supply and continued to do so for 55 years.
Muiravonside Country Park
3.69km from Refuge Stone
Muiravonside is Falkirk’s only Country Park, providing 170 acres of stunning woodland and parkland, a mini demonstration farm, a sculpture trail, children’s play area and a café at the Visitor Hub courtyard. The park is free to access all year round and offers spectacular scenery accessible through a network of paths. The site is managed by Falkirk Community Trust.
Discover More Attractions in West Lothian, Home of Refuge Stone
West Lothian is one of the 32 council areas of Scotland, and was one of its historic counties. The county, which was known as Linlithgowshire,was bounded geographically by the Avon to the west and the Almond to the east. The modern council area occupies a larger area than the historic county.