Avon Aqueduct - 4 Things to Know Before Visiting
About Avon Aqueduct
This is the second largest aqueduct in Britain and the largest in Scotland. It measures 247m long, 25.9m high and 7.2 m wide. All three aqueducts on the canal use the same construction of hollow stone piers and arches spanning 50 ft. The water is channeled over in an iron trough. The canal's engineer Hugh Baird consulted Thomas Telford over this innovative design. There are canal boat trips to the aqueduct from Linlithgow.
Hotels near Avon Aqueduct
Checkout accommodations closest to Avon Aqueduct
Attractions Near Avon Aqueduct
Muiravonside Country Park
0.38km from Avon Aqueduct
Muiravonside is Falkirk’s only Country Park, providing 170 acres of stunning woodland and parkland, a mini demonstration farm, a sculpture trail, children’s play area and a café at the Visitor Hub courtyard. The park is free to access all year round and offers spectacular scenery accessible through a network of paths. The site is managed by Falkirk Community Trust.
1.82km from Avon Aqueduct
Almond Castle is a ruined L-plan castle dating from the 15th century. It is located 3 miles west of Linlithgow, and north of the Union Canal, in Falkirk, Scotland. It was known as Haining Castle until the 17th century. The structure is unsound and is protected as a scheduled monument. The ruin has a vaulted basement. The hall was on the first floor, while there is a kitchen in the wing. There is a courtyard, with a wall and ditch, enclosing the remains of 16th-century buildings.
2.65km from Avon Aqueduct
Cockleroi or Cockleroy is a prominent hill in Scotland. It is Linlithgow's local hill. At its summit is a Bronze-Age hill fort known as Wallace's Bed or Wallace's Cradle, which is very similar in structure to another on the nearby Bowden Hill. Also at the summit are an Ordnance Survey triangulation pillar and a geographical indicator.
Torphichen Preceptory Historic Scotland
3.29km from Avon Aqueduct
Torphichen Preceptory is an unusual remnant of a little known corner of Scottish history. It comprises the tower and the two transepts of the church associated with the Preceptory of the Knights Hospitaller of the Order of St John of Jerusalem. The Order maintained just two such establishments in Britain, the other being in London.
3.69km from Avon Aqueduct
A really intresting museum located in the centre of Linlithgow within the Partnership CentreTheir three galleries will help you explore the town’s royal connections, understand its industrial past, and learn what ‘Life by the Loch’ was really like. Exhibitions in our community space will bring you closer to the Linlithgow residents of today.
The Cross Well
3.72km from Avon Aqueduct
The present structure was built in 1807 and is an imitation of the previous Cross Well that was built in 1660. The 1660 version in turn replaced an earlier structure which was destroyed by Cromwell's army. I believe, but unfortunately have been unable to confirm, that one of those earlier Cross Wells was removed to the courtyard of Linlithgow Palace. Carvings from this 17th C. well-head, which were rediscovered in a store-room in 1997, are on display in the Linlithgow Story Museum in Annet House
Discover More Attractions in West Lothian, Home of Avon Aqueduct
West Lothian is one of the 32 council areas of Scotland, and was one of its historic counties. The county, which was known as Linlithgowshire,was bounded geographically by the Avon to the west and the Almond to the east. The modern council area occupies a larger area than the historic county.