Beecraigs Loch - 4 Things to Know Before Visiting
About Beecraigs Loch
Beecraigs Loch, was built by German Prisoners of War. They were based in a work camp and had been sent from Stobs Camp near Hawick. Clay and stone was used to build the dam wall, this stone was quarried from Riccarton Hill and brought down the slopes to the site using a winch-powered railway. By 1918 the 8 hectare reservoir, holding 82 million gallons of water, began serving as a local water supply and continued to do so for 55 years.
Hotels near Beecraigs Loch
Hotels to stay near Beecraigs Loch
Top Trips and Tours in Scotland
Tours and activities in Scotland that might be of interest to you
Attractions Near Beecraigs Loch
Beecraigs Country Park
0.69km from Beecraigs Loch
A beautiful 370 hectare Country Park located in the Bathgate Hills near historic Linlithgow town. One of three Country Parks in West Lothian, sister Parks are Almondell & Calderwood and Polkemmet Country Parks. It is the largest of West Lothian's 3 Country Parks and offers miles of woodland paths and trails to explore by foot, bike or horse as well as a wide range of leisure and recreational opportunities.
2.06km from Beecraigs Loch
Cockleroi or Cockleroy is a prominent hill in Scotland. It is Linlithgow's local hill. At its summit is a Bronze-Age hill fort known as Wallace's Bed or Wallace's Cradle, which is very similar in structure to another on the nearby Bowden Hill. Also at the summit are an Ordnance Survey triangulation pillar and a geographical indicator.
2.49km from Beecraigs Loch
The 12th century ‘refuge stone’ marks the boundary of Torphichen which was held by the Knights of St John Hospitallers of Jerusalem where they established a Preceptory in 1124. It is one of a number of surviving boundary stones around the village. West Lothian Council worked in partnership with Historic Environment Scotland to carry out the £1000 restoration project.
2.93km from Beecraigs Loch
A really intresting museum located in the centre of Linlithgow within the Partnership CentreTheir three galleries will help you explore the town’s royal connections, understand its industrial past, and learn what ‘Life by the Loch’ was really like. Exhibitions in our community space will bring you closer to the Linlithgow residents of today.
The Cross Well
2.96km from Beecraigs Loch
The present structure was built in 1807 and is an imitation of the previous Cross Well that was built in 1660. The 1660 version in turn replaced an earlier structure which was destroyed by Cromwell's army. I believe, but unfortunately have been unable to confirm, that one of those earlier Cross Wells was removed to the courtyard of Linlithgow Palace. Carvings from this 17th C. well-head, which were rediscovered in a store-room in 1997, are on display in the Linlithgow Story Museum in Annet House
3.16km from Beecraigs Loch
The ruins of Linlithgow Palace are situated in the town of Linlithgow, West Lothian, Scotland, 15 miles (24 km) west of Edinburgh. The palace was one of the principal residences of the monarchs of Scotland in the 15th and 16th centuries. Although maintained after Scotland's monarchs left for England in 1603, the palace was little used, and was burned out in 1746. It is now a visitor attraction in the care of Historic Environment Scotland.
Discover More Attractions in West Lothian, Home of Beecraigs Loch
West Lothian is one of the 32 council areas of Scotland, and was one of its historic counties. The county, which was known as Linlithgowshire,was bounded geographically by the Avon to the west and the Almond to the east. The modern council area occupies a larger area than the historic county.