Attractions to explore nearby Cascata Zompo Lo Schioppo - With photos & details

Get Travalour for free on Google Play

Attractions to explore nearby Cascata Zompo Lo Schioppo

Cascata Zompo Lo SchioppoRiserva Naturale Zompo Lo Schioppo, 67050 Morino AQ, Italy

The waterfall of Zompo lo Schioppo represents the highest natural waterfall in the central Apennines after that of the Rio Verde di Borrello; in fact, the waters precipitate from a height of over 80 meters and then flow downstream towards the town of Morino. The flow rate of the waterfall, originating from karst phenomena, depends on the amount of rainfall that occurs during the year.

Monti Cantari4.53 KMs away from Cascata Zompo Lo Schioppo

The Monti Càntari is a short mountain range belonging to the central Apennines, located on the border between Lazio and Abruzzo, along the Apennine watershed, between the provinces of Frosinone and L'Aquila. Bordered to the north and east by the Roveto Valley, to the south-east by the Ernici Mountains, to the south by the Latina Valley, to the west by the Granara Valley and the territory of Filettino.

Parco Sponga8.53 KMs away from Cascata Zompo Lo Schioppo

The Sponga Park is a municipal natural park located on the Simbruini mountain range in the municipality of Canistro , in Abruzzo.  The protected area is characterized by the presence of the La Sponga stream whose source, called Sant'Antonio-Sponga, is located at about 1000 m  above sea level. The name of the stream and the park could derive from the corresponding dialect word for "sponge".

Monti Ernici8.97 KMs away from Cascata Zompo Lo Schioppo

The Ernici Mountains are a short mountain range of tectonic origin of the Lazio Sub-Apennines, which extends east-west and is bounded to the north by the Cantari Mountains and the Aniene valley , to the east by the Liri valley, to the south and to the west , from the Sacco Valley. The peaks are on average 2000 meters high, the highest is that of Monte del Passeggio followed by Pizzo Deta, Monte Fragara and Monte Ginepro which together constitute the southern massif.