6 Old Ruins to Explore in County Dublin

Checkout places to visit in County Dublin

County Dublin

County Dublin is one of the thirty-two traditional counties of Ireland, located on the island's east coast, within the province of Leinster. Dublin city is the capital and largest city of the Republic of Ireland, as well as the largest city on the island of Ireland. Roughly 9 out of every 10 people in County Dublin lives within Dublin city and its suburbs.

Activities Around

Old Ruins to Explore in County Dublin

Glasmore Abbey

Glasmore Abbey is a ruins in Ireland, situated northeast of Killeek, close to Glasmoe Abbey. An iconic attraction in this area and there are so many options for leisure activities too.

Lusk Round Tower

The round tower of Lusk was already built in the 9th century and offered protection to the monastery complex during the numerous Viking raids in this area. The medieval builders made every effort to merge their new tower and the round tower into one unit. The nave, which adjoins the bell tower, was not built until the middle of the 19th century.

Newbridge Estate

Newbridge Demesne is an early 18th-century Georgian estate and mansion situated in north County Dublin, Ireland. It was built in 1736 by Charles Cobbe, Archbishop of Dublin, and remained the property of his Cobbe descendants until 1985. It was then acquired by Dublin County Council, in a unique arrangement, under which Newbridge House would remain the family home.Set within 400 acres of partially wooded parkland, Newbridge House is one of the finest surviving examples of Georgian architecture.

St Doulagh's Church

St Doulagh's Church was previously home to a Medieval monastic settlement. St Doulagh, who was a hermit, founded the monastic settlement in the 7th century at this site. It is the oldest stone-roofed church still in use in Ireland and it is located in Kinsealy. The original portion of the building is 48 feet by 18 feet, with a double roof of rough stone set with cement. The original walls are three feet thick. The battlemented square tower was added in the 15th Century.

Swords Castle

The Castle situated in the centre of the ancient town of Swords is the only fortified residence of the Archbishop to survive in a reasonable state today. The buildings that make up the Castle form a rough pentagon enclosing an area of approximately 0.5 Ha with a perimeter wall of 305 meters. The Castle was built over a period of 400 years starting before 1200 A.D.

Swords Round Tower

The Swords Round Tower dates from the 9th century and marks the site of an old monastery founded by St. Colmcille in the year 560 A.D. St. Colmcille blessed the local well of clear water, thus giving the town it's name 'Sord' meaning clear or pure. It is also reputed that the bodies of Brian Boru and his son Murrough rested here after the Battle of Clontarf when they were on their way to Armagh for burial.

Map of Old Ruins to explore in County Dublin