County Dublin - 15 Attractions You Must Visit
Contents in This Page
About County Dublin
County Dublin is one of the thirty-two traditional counties of Ireland, located on the island's east coast, within the province of Leinster. Dublin city is the capital and largest city of the Republic of Ireland, as well as the largest city on the island of Ireland. Roughly 9 out of every 10 people in County Dublin lives within Dublin city and its suburbs.
Attractions in County Dublin
The Broadmeadow viaduct is a rail bridge carrying the main Dublin to Belfast railway across the estuary of the Broadmeadow River, about 13 kilometres north of Dublin, Ireland. Just north of Malahide village, it is approximately 180 metres (600 feet) long and is a section of a longer crossing constructed as an embankment.
A beautiful stretch of white sandy beach in North County Dublin and is a great spot for walking and canoeing. From the beach there are beautiful views of Lambay Island, Howth Peninsula and Malahide Estuary. Explore the many rock pools.
A beautiful footpath along the coast connects the beaches of Donabate. It leads past impressive cliffs and offers magnificent views over the Irish Sea and Lambay Island. It is an iconic location for a walk and also there are so many things to see and do here.
The round tower of Lusk was already built in the 9th century and offered protection to the monastery complex during the numerous Viking raids in this area. The medieval builders made every effort to merge their new tower and the round tower into one unit. The nave, which adjoins the bell tower, was not built until the middle of the 19th century.
Malahide is an expansive stretch of sand that runs between the town and the estuary. It is a popular spot with beach walkers with a mix of dunes, beach, footpath and promenade running along its 2km length. A good picnic destination and is a good place where you can bring your family out.
Newbridge Demesne is an early 18th-century Georgian estate and mansion situated in north County Dublin, Ireland. It was built in 1736 by Charles Cobbe, Archbishop of Dublin, and remained the property of his Cobbe descendants until 1985. It was then acquired by Dublin County Council, in a unique arrangement, under which Newbridge House would remain the family home.Set within 400 acres of partially wooded parkland, Newbridge House is one of the finest surviving examples of Georgian architecture.
A beautiful wide strand of sandy beach located in Portmarnock, North Dublin. It is five miles long and stretches all the way to Baldoyle and adjoins Malahide Beach. It has a lovely view of the Dublin Mountains and Howth Harbour. . It is a great way of exercising, whether walking, cycling or even roller blading.
Portmarnock Golf Club is situated on uits own sandy peninsula, approximately two miles long and covering some 500 acres. The course opened on Saint Stephen's Day 1894 with nine holes. It was extended to eighteen holes in 1896 with a new clubhouse and a further nine holes were added in 1971. It is regularly famed as one of the world's greatest links golf clubs.
A beautiful tidal estuary that holds large numbers of waders and wildfowl in winter and the Rush Sailing Club is located near the estuary. The estuary is made up of saltwater marshes, raised salt marsh, wet meadows and riverine shallows and creeks. It covers an area of 3.63 km2, and is divided by a causeway and bridge built in the 1840s to carry the main Dublin–Belfast railway line.
St Doulagh's Church was previously home to a Medieval monastic settlement. St Doulagh, who was a hermit, founded the monastic settlement in the 7th century at this site. It is the oldest stone-roofed church still in use in Ireland and it is located in Kinsealy. The original portion of the building is 48 feet by 18 feet, with a double roof of rough stone set with cement. The original walls are three feet thick. The battlemented square tower was added in the 15th Century.
Sutton is a residential suburb on the Northside of Dublin, Ireland. It occupies the tombolo which links Howth Head to the mainland, some of the lower slopes of Howth Hill, and a little of the adjacent coasts. The area lies within the jurisdiction of Fingal County Council. There is a small commercial core at the Sutton Cross road intersection.
The Castle situated in the centre of the ancient town of Swords is the only fortified residence of the Archbishop to survive in a reasonable state today. The buildings that make up the Castle form a rough pentagon enclosing an area of approximately 0.5 Ha with a perimeter wall of 305 meters. The Castle was built over a period of 400 years starting before 1200 A.D.
The Swords Round Tower dates from the 9th century and marks the site of an old monastery founded by St. Colmcille in the year 560 A.D. St. Colmcille blessed the local well of clear water, thus giving the town it's name 'Sord' meaning clear or pure. It is also reputed that the bodies of Brian Boru and his son Murrough rested here after the Battle of Clontarf when they were on their way to Armagh for burial.
Ward River Valley Park is a park in Ireland and has an elevation of 23 metres. Ward River Valley Park is situated west of The Old Vicarage, close to Kim Archibold Memorial. There are viewing points, picnic sites and sports pitches, Swords Town Park which includes a playground and tennis courts and Swords Castle forms part of this park.