4 Iconic Buildings to explore in Baguio
Baguio officially the City of Baguio is a city in the mountainous area of the Northern Luzon, Philippines. Due to its cool mountain weather, it is considered the "Summer Capital of the Philippines."
Teachers’ Camp was founded in 1908 as a vacation home for teachers visiting from outside of the city. This ingenious plan, as laid out by Governor William Pack, was formally opened on April 6, 1908. In 1936, the Teachers’ Camp also became the residence of Philippine Military Academy cadets until their number strengthened and a transfer to their current site in Fort Del Pilar became necessary a year after. Baguio Teachers’ Camp has also witnessed situations, a blend of joy and misfortune.
Once owned by one of the richest clans in Baguio, Laperal Mansion is a commanding sight along Leonard road beside the infamous Teacher's Camp. The three-story mansion is decorated with old yet intricately-varnished interiors. Used as a garrison by the Japanese, the Laperals' loving home was quickly turned into a gruesome site, which explains numerous stories about ghost sightings. Despite its brooding aura, the Mansion has a garage that serves as a showroom for bamboo art.
The Colors of StoBoSa, officially designated as the StoBoSa Hillside Homes Artwork, is a community artwork designed by the Tam-awan Village group, and is a locally recognized tourist attraction in the town of La Trinidad, Benguet. The paintwork of multiple houses composes the single artwork.
The Mansion is the official summer residence of the President of the Philippines. It is located in the eastern part of the city along C.P. Romulo Drive (formerly a part of Leonard Wood Road) and right across from Wright Park. Older than the city itself, the Mansion is easily one of the most visited and photographed landmarks of Baguio.