40 Man-made Structures- Other to explore in Ireland
A country in the north-western Europe. Ireland, or Republic of Ireland shares its only border with Northern Ireland, which is part of the United Kingdom. It is surrounded by the ocean in all it's other sides. About 40% of the countries 5 million population lives in the greater city area of Dublin.
Adare Heritage Centre offers an exciting range of facilities for every visitor. Learn about the history of the picturesque heritage town of Adare in County Limerick at the Adare Heritage Centre.Step back in time and take a journey through the Historical Exhibition, a reconstruction of Adare’s unique past from the arrival of the Normans to the ancient Abbeys of the Middle Ages.
Armagh Observatory is an astronomical research institute in Armagh, Northern Ireland. Around 25 astronomers are based at the observatory, studying stellar astrophysics, the Sun, Solar System astronomy and Earth's climate. A Troughton refracting telescope of 2.5 inch aperture was installed in a dome in 1795. The telescope was manufactured by J & E Troughton of London, and is noted for its late 18th century brass metal work.
A graceful viaduct making a dramatic visual statement in the landscape, forming an artificial horizon spanning the Dalligan River valley. It is a our-span railway viaduct over river, built 1923, incorporating fabric of earlier viaduct, opened 1878, on site. Decommissioned, 1982. Now disused. Unpainted mass-concrete tapered pylon piers with coping over.
Belturbet Railway Station which opened in 1885 was built and operated by the Great Northern Railway Company of Ireland. They had both Broad gauge 5ft 3” and Narrow Gauge 3ft trains running. At Belturbet the line connected with the Great Northern Railway broad-gauge branch to Ballyhaise on the Clones to Cavan line, and at Dromod connected to the Midland Great Western Railway mainline from Dublin to Sligo. The line was extended to Arigna in 1920.
The Blarney Stone is a block of Carboniferous limestone built into the battlements of Blarney Castle, Blarney, about 8 kilometres from Cork, Ireland. According to legend, kissing the stone endows the kisser with the gift of the gab. The stone was set into a tower of the castle in 1446. The castle is a popular tourist site in Ireland, attracting visitors from all over the world to kiss the stone and tour the castle and its gardens.
This is the largest working windmill in Ireland and the only windmill along Ireland’s Wild Atlantic Way. It was authentically restored to full working order in the 1980s. The mill has five floors, ground floor, intermediate floor, grinding floor, stone floor and cap floor. An adjacent visitor centre has displays on the history of the mill, its technology and on emigration from the area after the great famine. There is also a bird-watching platform equipped with telescopes.
Bonane Heritage Park is an private archaeological preserve and tourist attraction between Bonane and Kenmare in County Kerry, Ireland. The park has over 250 well-preserved sites from the Stone, Bronze and Iron Age right up to pre-Famine times and celebrates the first settlers who colonised the Irish countryside. It is a stunning walk laden with archeological treasures that all of the family will enjoy.
The Boyne Viaduct, a 30-metre-high railway bridge, or viaduct, that crosses the River Boyne in Drogheda, carrying the main Dublin–Belfast railway line. During World War II, the viaduct was identified by the British as being of great strategic importance as part of the British plans for a counter-attack following a German invasion of Ireland.
BRÚ Brewery was founded in Meath in 2013 with the intention of creating brews for all tastes. It is named after Brú Na Boinne (Newgrange), which is a Stone Age monument located in the Boyne Valley in County Meath. The brewery was established in 2013 by local lads Dave O’Hare and Daire Harlin with the aim to make tasty craft beers.
The Cavan and Leitrim Railway in Dromod was one of the most fascinating, and at one time busiest, of Ireland's narrow-gauge railways. Today, the restored narrow gauge railway offers you the chance to experience the age of steam transport. Unusually for Ireland, this 3 ft narrow gauge line survived on coal traffic, from the mine at Arigna. The line consisted of a main line 54 km long between Dromod and Belturbet with a 24 km (15 mi) branch from Ballinamore to Arigna.
Dunquin Pier is situated at the northern end of a small secluded bay surrounded by rocky cliffs. Access is achieved via a narrow meandering walkway. The seasonal ferry service to the Blasket Islands operates from the pier. The surrounding landscape is an attractive mixture of mountain and cliff top. The seasonal ferry service to the Blasket Islands operates from the pier.
The Cistercian Order finds its historical origin in Cîteaux, a French monastery founded in 1098 by a group of monks under the leadership of St. Robert of Molesme. Having left behind the Abbey of Molesme to found a new monastery, the community set out intending to live a life faithful to the simplicity of the Rule of St. Benedict. Inspired
Corrib Cruises is a family run passenger boat service on Lough Corrib, County Galway, Ireland, operated by brothers Patrick and David Luskin. It offer lake cruises every day of the year on beautiful Lough Corrib. The morning cruise departs from Ashford Castle and Lisloughrey Pier and is an excellent way to see the many sights along the lakeshore. A commentary is provided throughout the voyage.
Cronin’s Yard has been used as the traditional starting point for ascents of Ireland’s highest mountain.It is located at the entrance to the Hag’s Glen. The facilities provided are a tea room, male & female shower rooms and male & female toilets. Car parking available.
An independent, family owned distillery located on the edge of the scenic town of Dingle, Co. Kerry. The first whiskeys distilled and matured at the distillery were released in late 2016. In addition to whiskey, the distillery also produces and markets Dingle vodka and Dingle Gin.
Donegal Railway Heritage Centre is considered one of the county’s hidden gems andToday, it operates as a visitor attraction comprising a museum, information centre and shop. This fascinating museum which has just been refurbished, celebrating Donegal’s railway heritage, is based in one of the few remaining original station houses, which opened in 1889.
The Downpatrick and County Down Railway is a five-foot, three-inch gauge heritage railway in County Down, Northern Ireland. The railway has approximately three miles of track in a triangular-shaped layout, which connects the town of Downpatrick with the historical sites of Inch Abbey to the north and King Magnus’ Grave to the south.It also houses a museum of railway artefacts and rolling stock originating from both Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland.
This old graveyard known as the Famine Graveyard and also the Paupers Graveyard is the site of the burials of victims of the Great Irish Famine 1845-1849 and of the poor generally. There are no marked graves. There are probably hundreds of people buried here, possibly a thousand or more. It lay nearby the old Donegal Town Workhouse. A lone cross and a few plaques commemorate the burials.
The Fintown Railway is the only operational railway in Co. Donegal. Set amidst spectacular highland scenery overlooking Lough Finn. It is the only operational narrow guage railway in County Donegal. The railway nestled deep in the heart of spectacular mountainous scenery steeped in tradition, myth and folklore, and running along the crystal clear waters of Loch Finn is a million miles from the constant rush of every day life.