Convent of St. John Müstair
7537 Val Müstair, Switzerland
About Convent of St. John Müstair
The Convent of Müstair, which stands in a valley in the Grisons, is a good example of Christian monastic renovation during the Carolingian period. It has Switzerland's greatest series of figurative murals, painted c. A.D. 800, along with Romanesque frescoes and stuccoes.
Attractions near Convent of St. John Müstair
The Umbrail Pass is the highest pass in Switzerland and is the link to the Val Braulio. The Umbrail and Fuorn Passes encircle the Val Müstair, Switzerland’s first high-Alpine UNESCO biosphere reserve. It is currently the highest paved road in Switzerland. The pass is located in a picturesque location and a lot of peoples visits this place every year.
Fuorn Pass or Ofen Pass is a high alpine mountain pass in the canton of Graubünden in Switzerland. The name is based on the ovens that were used in ironworks in the area. The ruins of these ovens can still be seen from nearby trails. It connects Zernez in the Engadin valley with Val Müstair, crossing the Swiss National Park in Switzerland.
The Munt la Schera Tunnel is a single lane road tunnel located in the Swiss canton of Graubünden. It connects the Engadin valley with Lago di Livigno, through Munt la Schera. Completed in 1965, the tunnel is 3,394 meters in length. The tunnel was built to transport building materials for the construction of the Punt dal Gall dam. It was opened for public use in 1968. It was one of the architectural wonders in this area.
The Swiss National Park stretches over 170 square kilometre and is Switzerland’s largest nature reserve. The area lies in Engadin/Münstertal and encompasses alpine terrain rising from 1’400 to 3’200 m above sea level. The foundation of the Swiss National Park in 1914 was a milestone in the history of nature conservation. It was the first national park in the Alps and Central Europe, it is known for its abundance of Alpine animals and Alpine plants in a barely touched pristine landscape.
The Val d'Uina is a small side valley of the Lower Engadine between the Piz S-chalambert in the north-east and Piz Lischana in the south-west. The Uina flows through it and flows into the Inn Valley at Sur En . In the valley lie the two hamlets of Uina Dadaint and Uina Dadora, which have been inhabited all year round for centuries and are now only cultivated in summer. In Uina Dadaint, a house and a stable with barn are still preserved. In Uina Dadora, at 1499 m, the Val Curtinatsch, the large
Lake Livigno is an artificial reservoir born after the Gallo dam, built by the Swiss hydroelectric company Engadiner Kraftwerke AG in the years 1965 - 1968 to produce electricity. The lake is therefore located on the swiss and Italian border. it was one of the famous tourist destinations because of its architectural intelligence.
Where is Convent of St. John Müstair
Discover more attractions in Grisons, where Convent of St. John Müstair is located