Attractions to explore nearby Hanoi Opera House
Opera House erected by the French colonial administration between 1901 and 1911, it was modeled on the Palais Garnier, the older of Paris's two opera houses. After the departure of the French, the opera house became the scene for several political events as well as the scene of street fighting during the fight for Hanoi.
The museum highlights Vietnam's prehistory (about 300,000–400,000 years ago) up to the August 1945 Revolution. It has over 200,000 exhibits displayed, arranged in five major sections. The museum building was an archaeological research institution of the French School of the Far East under French colonial rule of 1910.
Materials, photos and objects displayed in the permanent exhibition show the role the Vietnamese women played in history and currently play in arts and in family life. The museum also organizes thematic exhibitions to show changes and development of the contemporary society.
Hoan Kiem Lake means "Lake of the Returned Sword". According to the legend, after defeating the Ming China in early 1428, Emperor Lê Lợi was boating on the lake when a Golden Turtle God surfaced and asked for his magic sword. Lợi concluded that the turtle god had come to reclaim the sword that its master, a local God, the Dragon King had given to Lợi. The Emperor later gave the sword back to the turtle after he finished fighting off the Chinese.
Bat Trang, traditional porcelain and pottery village with history of seven centuries, is an interesting attraction in Hanoi that tourists should not ignore. Located in an area rich in clay, the village has advantage of ingredients to create fine ceramics. Moreover, lying besides the Red river, between Thang Long and Pho Hien, two ancient trade centers in the north of Vietnam during 15th-17th century, Bat Trang’s ceramics were favorite products not only in domestic market, but also foreign.
Late 19th-century Neo-Gothic style church that serves as the cathedral of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Hanoi to nearly 4 million Catholics in the country. Construction of the church began in 1886, with the architectural style described as resembling Notre Dame de Paris. The church was one of the first structures built by the French colonial government in Indochina when it opened in December 1886. It is the oldest church in Hanoi.
Hỏa Lò Prison was a prison used by the French colonists in French Indochina for political prisoners, and later by North Vietnam for U.S. prisoners of war during the Vietnam War. The prison was demolished during the 1990s, although the gatehouse remains as a museum.
The museum displays eras of Vietnamese military history showcased in different buildings on the complex. The museum also includes a display of decommissioned, captured or destroyed military equipment and vehicles used by French, Viet Minh, North Vietnam, South Vietnam and the United States during the First and Second Indochina Wars.
A complex of historic imperial buildings located in the centre of Hanoi. The royal enclosure was first built during the Lý dynasty (1010) and expanded by the Trần, Lê and finally the Nguyễn dynasty. It remained the seat of the Vietnamese court until 1810, when the Nguyễn dynasty chose to move the capital to Huế.
A historic cantilever bridge across the Red River. The bridge was built in 1899-1902 by the architects Daydé & Pillé of Paris, and opened in 1903. It was heavily bombarded during Vietnam War due to its critical position. It was the only bridge at that time across the Red River connecting Hanoi to the main port of Haiphong.
One of Vietnam's two most iconic temples. The temple is built of wood on a single stone pillar 1.25 m in diameter and 4 m in height, and it is designed to resemble a lotus blossom, a Buddhist symbol of purity. The emperor Lý Thái Tông constructed the temple in 1049, in gratitude for having a son.
The Vĩnh Tuy Bridge is a bridge over the Red River (Vietnamese: Sông Hồng) in Hanoi which was completed in 2008. It was one of the Millennial Anniversary of Hanoi commemorative projects along with the Thanh Trì Bridge. It is unrelated to a smaller Vĩnh Tuy bridge destroyed in 1966 by the United States Air Force bombing.
Built between 1900 and 1906 to house the French Governor-General of Indochina. The yellow palace stands behind wrought iron gates flanked by sentry boxes, the only visual cues that it is located in Vietnam at all are mango trees growing on the grounds. The palace is not open to the public, but visitors can walk around the grounds for a fee.