20 Attractions to Explore Near Karlsruhe Palace
Built in 1715 by Margrave Charles III William of Baden-Durlach, after a dispute with the citizens of his previous capital, Durlach. The city of Karlsruhe was planned with the tower of the palace at the center and 32 streets radiating out from it like spokes on a wheel, or ribs on a folding fan, so that a nickname for Karlsruhe in German is the "fan city"
Organizes special exhibitions and thematic events, conducts research and produces works on the effects of media, digitization, and globalization. The ZKM houses under one roof exhibition spaces, the research platform Hertz Lab, a library and a media library, thus combining research and production, exhibitions and events, archive and collection.
With an overall length of 1,250 metres and a top height of 20 metres, the treetop walk meanders through the beech trees, firs and spruces of the mountain forest. There is a 40-metre-high, architecturally unique observation tower here that gives panoramic views of the forest.
The Technik Museum Speyer is a technology museum in Speyer openend in 1991 as a sister museum of the Auto & Technik Museum Sinsheim. The museum has over 2,000 exhibits and an exhibition area of more than 150,000 m² , indoors and outdoors. It pulls more than half a million visitors per year.
Holiday Park is one of Germany's most popular theme parks, and is part park and part woodland. The park offers several amusement rides, as well as roller coasters, water rides, and live shows. The park is well known for its Expedition GeForce roller coaster, which consistently remained in the top ten of the many best roller coaster lists since its opening in 2001.
The fortifications of the Maginot Line, built in the 1920s by the French government to deter invasion from Germany. It was the largest of the Maginot line forts and was designed to accommodate a garrison of about 500 men. It is the largest such fortification open to the public in Alsace. Officially recorded as a historical monument. It has faced so many wars and has a lot of history to say.
Trifels Castle is a reconstructed medieval castle at an elevation of 500 m (1,600 ft) near the small town of Annweiler, in tRhineland-Palatinate, Germany. It is located above the Queich valley within the Palatinate Forest on one peak of a red sandstone mountain that is split into three. The castle is one of the most popular tourist destinations in the state of Rhineland-Palatinate.
Hambach Castle is considered a symbol of the German democracy movement. It is located on the mountain Schlossberg in the eastern outskirts of the Palatine Forest at an elevation of 325m. Archaeological finds shows that the area of Hambach Castle was used in late Roman times.
Berwartstein Castle is located on the southern part of the Palatinate Forest. It was one of the rock castles defending Palatinate during the Middle Ages. The stairs, passages and rooms of the castle are carved out of the rock to form parts that are essential to the defence of the castle. The castle has a well that was hacked out of the rock to the bottom of the valley some 104 metres below.
Summer residence of the Electors Palatine Charles III Philip and Charles IV Theodore, most notable for its spacious and ornate gardens. The mosque in the gardens complex is the earliest mosque-style building in Germany, built in 1779–1791. It was built at a time when the “Turkish” style was fashionable in Germany, it was never intended for prayer but later served religious purposes at various times.
The museum had more than 3,000 exhibits and an exhibition area of more than 50,000 m2 (540,000 sq ft), indoors and outdoors. It is the largest private museum in Europe. With a Tupolev Tu-144 on display since 2001 and Air France donating one of its retiring Concorde aircraft (F-BVFB), it is the only place where both supersonic passenger aircraft are shown. Both are fully accessible by the public.
A ruined castle in the commune of Lembach. This fortress, built in the shape of a 52 m long boat, has a long history. The castle was built on a sandstone summit in the Middle Ages. An ingenious system for collecting rainwater fed a cistern and a hoist allowed water and other loads to be moved to the upper floors. It was built in the first half or mid-12th century by the Fleckenstein family, who were ministerials of the Hohenstaufen dynasty. Now it is one of the main attractions in this area.
At 1,164 m (3,820 ft) above the sea level, is the highest mountain in the Northern Black Forest of Germany. The treeless wet heathlands on the highest areas here were created following forest clearance and the subsequent use of the land as grazing in the 15th century.
Founded in 1933 and opened for the public on 20 November 1934, the zoo was totally destroyed during bombings in March 1945. Since 1972, the reformation began and slowly added more and more animal enclosures which includes an elephant house that was opened in 2010.
A walk through scenic nature, with a view of Heidelberg city. The name "Philosophers' Walk" can be traced to the fact that Heidelberg's university professors and philosophers found this path a place where they could talk seriously and contemplate while enjoying the charming view of the region.