18 Attractions to Explore Near Kareng Ghar
Kareng Ghar is one of the grandest examples of Ahom architecture. The palace structures were made of wood and stone. In 1751 Sunenphaa, son of Sukhrungphaa, constructed the brick wall of about 5 kilometres in length surrounding the Garhgaon Palace and the masonry gate leading to it. After the destruction of the old palace it was rebuilt around 1752 as the present seven-storied structure by Suremphaa.
Gargaon Palace, the royal seat of Ahom dynasty, is a popular attraction of Sibsagar, located about 13 km away. Gargaon Palace was built in the year 1540 by King Suklemnung, who was the 15th King from the Ahom Dynasty. The palace was rebuilt in the year 1762 by King Rajesshar Singha. Of the seven floors of the palace, three were underground which had many underground passages. All these were later closed by the East India Company.
Joysagar is a man-made lake that has historical significance. It was made by Swargadeo Rudra Singha, an Ahom king in the memory of his mother in the year 1697. Covering an area of 318, this is one of the largest man-made lakes in India. It is also the largest one constructed by the Ahom kings in Assam. Joysagar becomes home to hundreds of migratory birds during winters and bird watching is an important activity during this time.
The Talatal Ghar or the Rangpur Palace is situated in the northern region of Assam and is one of the most impressive of Tai Ahom architecture. Not only does it stand as a worthy testament to the vibrant Assamese culture and its rich history, but it is also the largest of all Ahom monuments in the entire world. History buffs and architecture lovers should add Talatal Ghar to their go-to list.
Rang ghar is a two-storeyed building which once served as the royal sports-pavilion where Ahom kings and nobles were spectators at games like buffalo fights and other sports at Rupahi Pathar (pathar meaning "field" in Assamese) - particularly during the Rongali Bihu festival in the Ahom capital of Rangpur.
The Namdang Stone Bridge is a historic bridge located a few kilometers away from Sibsagar town in Assam, India. It was constructed in 1703 by craftmen brought from Bengal during the reign of Ahom king Rudra Singha. The bridge is 60 m long, 6.5 m wide and 1.7 m high. It runs over the Namdang river, a tributary of the Dikhou river. The present National Highway 37 is passing over it. The unique characteristic of the bridge is that it was cut out from a single solid piece of rock .
This sacred mausoleum had been built in the memory of a well known Muslim reformer and saint named Ajan Fakir. He came in the North East part of India from Baghdad in the 17th century. He played a vital role in unifying the people of the Brahmaputra Valley and stabilized the Islam religion in the state of Assam. He is considered as a legendary sufi saint who composed many spiritual songs related to Allah in Assamese language. Thousands of devotees from all over the country visit this place.
Established by saint cum reformer Madhavdeva, Dhekiakhowa Bornamghar is a famous namghar in Jorhat district of Assam. It was established in the year 1461, he kindled an earthen lamp and it has been burning till today, with the help of the priests who religiously refuel it, as and when required. It has a large campus and is one of the oldest namghars in the Assam. Namghar literally meaning Name House, which is associated with a religion named Ekasarana in the state of Assam.
The Hoollongapar Gibbon Sanctuary is an isolated protected area of evergreen forest located in Assam, India. The sanctuary was officially constituted and renamed in 1997. Set aside initially in 1881, its forests used to extend to the foothills of the Patkai mountain range. Since then, the forest has been fragmented and surrounded by tea gardens and small villages. In the early 1900s, artificial regeneration was used to a develop well-stocked forest, resulting in the site's rich biodiversity.
Bogibeel bridge is a combined road and rail bridge over the Brahmaputra river in the northeastern Indian state of Assam between Dhemaji district and Dibrugarh district, which was started in the year 2002 and took a total of 200 months to complete, heavy rainfall in the region is the main cause for the slow progress. Bogibeel river bridge is the longest rail-cum-road bridge in India measuring 4.94 kilometers over the Brahmaputra river.
Kamalabari satra was founded by Bedulapadma Ata. It is the center of culture, art, literature and classical studies for many long years and even continues to do so. This satra has produced many great figures in the state in the culture sector. This Satra has many well-known artists like Muktiyar Bayan and Late Maniram Dutta who had contributed a lot towards upliftment of the classical dance status of Assam.
Jorhat Gymkhana Club is a sports venue located in Jorhat, Assam. Club built in 1876 by D. Slimmons. The club has been a venue for horse races, lawn tennis grass courts, swimming pool, billiards, polo, golf, cricket etc. ever since its inauguration. The Governor's Cup is played here every year with a lush green 9-hole golf course circuit.
Majuli is a lush green environment-friendly, pristine and pollution free fresh water island in the river Brahmaputra, just 20 km from the Jorhat city. Majuli is the world's largest river island and it attracts tourists from all over the world. Among one of the most surreal places in India, Majuli is also a strong contender for a place in UNESCO's World Heritage Sites.
Dibrugarh University is a university in the Indian state of Assam. It was set up in 1965 under the provisions of the Dibrugarh University Act, 1965, enacted by the Assam Legislative Assembly. It is a teaching-cum-affiliating university.
Radha Krishna Mandir is located on the northeastern side of the city of Dibrugarh in Assam, at a distance of 5 kms from the city center. The main temple is housed on the first floor of the sanctum. The priests are quite helpful in aiding you perform your prayers. The temple is built in quite a spacious area. There is a serenity that you will experience in the temple. Radha Krishna Mandir can be visited during timings 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM. It is open on all days of the year.
Sukapha Samannay Kshetra in a dedication worked in the memory of Sukapha, the principal Ahom lord of Assam. The Sukapha Samannay Kshetra is arranged close Mohbandha close Jorhat and Dergaon. Sukapha was the organizer of the Ahom kingdom which kept on existing for almost six hundred years.
Thengal Bhawan was built in 1880 by Raibahadur Siva Prasad Barooah. In 1929, he published a weekly Assamese newspaper. Later, he established his printing press and office at Thengal Bhawan and managed to publish a daily newspaper, Dainik Batori. Siva Prasad Barooah was the owner and Bagmibar Nilamani Phukan was the editor of this daily newspaper. This newspaper was published from such a place, Thengal Bhawan, where there was no post office.
This religious destination is located about 42 km away from the district towards the north eastern direction. This place of worship had been built in dedication to Goddess Malini who had been worshiped here since the ancient times. Being a famous pilgrimage site amidst the hilly ranges of Arunachal Pradesh it is flocked by many devotees and pilgrims almost all round the year. Many archaeological excavations have been carried out in this spot .
The Golaghat Baptist Church established in December 1898, is one of the oldest and biggest Baptist Churches in Assam located in the city of Golaghat that had celebrated its Centenary Jubilee in the year 1999. The pioneering man behind the foundation of this church was Dr. O. L. Swanson, a missionary from America, who had come to Assam in 1893 along with his wife. Dr. Swanson was assisted by a number of local people to erect this church.