Namdang Stone Bridge
Namdang Stone Bridge, Gaurisagar, Assam 785664, India
About Namdang Stone Bridge
The Namdang Stone Bridge is a historic bridge located a few kilometers away from Sibsagar town in Assam, India. It was constructed in 1703 by craftmen brought from Bengal during the reign of Ahom king Rudra Singha. The bridge is 60 m long, 6.5 m wide and 1.7 m high. It runs over the Namdang river, a tributary of the Dikhou river. The present National Highway 37 is passing over it. The unique characteristic of the bridge is that it was cut out from a single solid piece of rock .
Attractions near Namdang Stone Bridge
Rang ghar is a two-storeyed building which once served as the royal sports-pavilion where Ahom kings and nobles were spectators at games like buffalo fights and other sports at Rupahi Pathar (pathar meaning "field" in Assamese) - particularly during the Rongali Bihu festival in the Ahom capital of Rangpur.
Joysagar is a man-made lake that has historical significance. It was made by Swargadeo Rudra Singha, an Ahom king in the memory of his mother in the year 1697. Covering an area of 318, this is one of the largest man-made lakes in India. It is also the largest one constructed by the Ahom kings in Assam. Joysagar becomes home to hundreds of migratory birds during winters and bird watching is an important activity during this time.
The Talatal Ghar or the Rangpur Palace is situated in the northern region of Assam and is one of the most impressive of Tai Ahom architecture. Not only does it stand as a worthy testament to the vibrant Assamese culture and its rich history, but it is also the largest of all Ahom monuments in the entire world. History buffs and architecture lovers should add Talatal Ghar to their go-to list.
This sacred mausoleum had been built in the memory of a well known Muslim reformer and saint named Ajan Fakir. He came in the North East part of India from Baghdad in the 17th century. He played a vital role in unifying the people of the Brahmaputra Valley and stabilized the Islam religion in the state of Assam. He is considered as a legendary sufi saint who composed many spiritual songs related to Allah in Assamese language. Thousands of devotees from all over the country visit this place.
Kareng Ghar is one of the grandest examples of Ahom architecture. The palace structures were made of wood and stone. In 1751 Sunenphaa, son of Sukhrungphaa, constructed the brick wall of about 5 kilometres in length surrounding the Garhgaon Palace and the masonry gate leading to it. After the destruction of the old palace it was rebuilt around 1752 as the present seven-storied structure by Suremphaa.
Gargaon Palace, the royal seat of Ahom dynasty, is a popular attraction of Sibsagar, located about 13 km away. Gargaon Palace was built in the year 1540 by King Suklemnung, who was the 15th King from the Ahom Dynasty. The palace was rebuilt in the year 1762 by King Rajesshar Singha. Of the seven floors of the palace, three were underground which had many underground passages. All these were later closed by the East India Company.
Where is Namdang Stone Bridge
Discover more attractions in Sivasagar, where Namdang Stone Bridge is located
Sivasagar formerly known as Sibsagar, is one of the 32 districts of Assam state in Northeast India. Sivasagar city is the administrative headquarters of this district. This historic place is also known for its rich biodiversity. The districts covers an area of 2668 square kilometers.