Chiascio, Province of Perugia, Italy
The Chiascio is a river dell ' Umbria , 81.8 km long tributary on the left bank of the Tiber. The river is mentioned, without being named, by Dante Alighieri in Canto XI of Paradise when the Supreme Poet begins the description of the Assisi area : "Intra Tupino and the water that descends from the hill chosen by Blessed Ubaldo" ... where for "The water that descends from the chosen hill" means the Chiascio river. Along the river, in the municipality of Assisi , is the Petrignano Castle , datin
Attractions near Chiascio
The Basilica Superiore, which was built immediately after the lower church and consecrated in 1253, is home to one of Italy's most famous works of art – a cycle of 28 frescoes depicting the life of St Francis. It is a Papal minor basilica and one of the most important places of Christian pilgrimage in Italy. With its accompanying friary, Sacro Convento, the basilica is a distinctive landmark to those approaching Assisi. It has been a UNESCO World Heritage site since 2000.
The Bosco di San Francesco is located in Assisi, at the foot of the Basilica dedicated to the Saint who lived and preached in these lands in the thirteenth century, together with his companions, giving life to the Franciscan order. In 2008, the FAI - Fondo Ambiente Italiano, thanks to the donation of Intesa Sanpaolo, acquired 64 hectares of the area, then, in 2011, following reorganization and recovery works, the forest was opened.
The Basilica of Santa Maria Degli Angeli is a church, the Roman Catholic rite, located in Assisi, in the hamlet of the same name, built on project Galeazzo Alessi with speeches by Jacopo Barozzi da Vignola in the second half of the sixteenth century. It has the dignity of a papal basilica and inside there is the Porziuncola, the chapel where Francis of Assisi gathered in prayer, and for this reason the center of Franciscan spirituality.
The abbey of San Pietro, incorporated in the fifteenth-century expansion of the walls, is located in front of the gardens of the Frontone, in Perugia , at the end of Borgo XX Giugno, outside the San Pietro gate. It was once the most powerful Benedictine monastery in Umbria. It was founded in the 10th century and was the first bishopric of Perugia.
The Rocca Maggiore has dominated the citadel of Assisi and the Tescio valley for more than eight hundred years, constituting the most valid fortification for their defense. You can reach the fortress on foot through the Perlici gate, built-in 1316: you can admire the Assisian walls still intact which, in their long journey, connect the two fortresses, Maggiore and Minore. It is one of the iconic attractions in this area and attracts a lot of tourists here.
The so-called temple of Minerva, of Augustan art, rises in Assisi, in Piazza del Comune, probably dedicated to Hercules and erected in 30 BC. It was transformed into the church of Santa Maria Sopra Minerva in the sixteenth century, with its bell tower, called "Torre del Popolo". It turns out to be among the best-preserved Roman temples of the ancient world. The building belongs to the typology of the Corinthian prostyle temple "in antis", with fluted columns resting on high quadrangular plinths
Where is Chiascio
Discover more attractions in Umbria, where Chiascio is located
The region of Umbria is in central Italy and is an attractive destination for a low-key, pleasant holiday. It is one of the few Italian regions to have no coastline, and its countryside is green and fertile, much of it wooded and hilly. Umbria is often described as a walkers' paradise.