Torre del Moro Orvieto
Corso Cavour, n° 87, 05018 Orvieto TR, Italy
About Torre del Moro Orvieto
This 45m-high civic project from the late 13th century was built to keep an eye on Orvietan territory. In the 19th century, it served as the main cistern for the city's new aqueduct system, then became the bell-ringing, communal timekeeper, when a mechanical clock was installed in 1876. You can clamber up for a sweeping view of the city and, on clear days, the countryside as far as Mts.
Attractions near Torre del Moro Orvieto
The Faina Museum is an archaeological museum located in the Faina palace in Orvieto, in the province of Terni. The museum was founded as a private collection in 1864. The museum includes ancient finds from the Greek age and Etruscan funerary objects, including a collection of Attic vases with black and red figures from the 6th - 5th centuries BC, a coin cabinet, and numismatic collections.
The Santa Maria Assunta Cathedral is the main place of worship catholic of Orvieto , in the province of Terni , the mother church of the diocese of Orvieto-Todi and masterpiece of ' Gothic architecture of' Central Italy . In January 1889, Pope Leo XIII elevated it to the dignity of a minor basilica. The building was constructed under the orders of Pope Urban IV to commemorate and provide a suitable home for the Corporal of Bolsena.
Orvieto, a millenary city suspended almost by magic between heaven and earth, has revealed another of those aspects that make it unique and extraordinary: a labyrinth of grottoes is hidden in the silent darkness of the rupe (rock). The distinctive geological nature of the mass of stone on which it stands allowed its inhabitants to dig, in the course of about 2500 years, an incredible number of cavities extending, overlapping and intersecting beneath the modern structure of the city.
The Pozzo della Cava is located in Orvieto, in via Della Cava 28. It is a vast, 36-meter-deep hole originally dug by the Etruscans as a well and enlarged between 1527 and1530 by order of Pope Clement VII to supply water to Orvieto in the event of a siege. In 1646 the well was closed after five French officers were hurled down the pit in a brawl.
The necropolis of the Crocefisso del Tufo is an Etruscan necropolis located at the base of the cliff of Orvieto , which reached its maximum extension between the middle of the sixth century BC and the middle of the following century. It is accessed from a pedestrian street connected to the pedestrian walkway that surrounds the cliff. The small church that gave the necropolis its name can also be reached via a charming pedestrian path that descends from Porta Maggiore.
The historic well of San Patrizio is a structure built by Antonio da Sangallo the Younger in Orvieto, between 1527 and 1537, at the behest of Pope Clement VII, a veteran of the Sack of Rome and eager to protect himself in the event of a siege of the city in which he had withdrawn. During Antonio da Sangallo's absences, the works were entrusted to Giovanni Battista da Cortona, while the decorative parts are by Simone Mosca .
Where is Torre del Moro Orvieto
Discover more attractions in Umbria, where Torre del Moro Orvieto is located
The region of Umbria is in central Italy and is an attractive destination for a low-key, pleasant holiday. It is one of the few Italian regions to have no coastline, and its countryside is green and fertile, much of it wooded and hilly. Umbria is often described as a walkers' paradise.