Piazza Malatesta, 47900 Rimini RN, Italy
About Castel Sismondo
The Castel Sismondo di Rimini takes its name from its creator and builder, Sigismondo Pandolfo Malatesta, at that time lord of Rimini and Fano. Today's remaining structure represents nothing more than the central core of the castle, which was originally defended by a further round of walls and a moat. It was built at the behest of Sigismondo Pandolfo Malatesta starting from 1437, in a period of great prosperity for the Malatesta lordship.
Attractions near Castel Sismondo
The bridge of Augustus and Tiberius, commonly known as the bridge of Tiberius, is a monument of Rimini from the time of ancient Rome. It served as a bridge over the Marecchia river when its course had not yet been diverted. Its construction began in 14 AD under the government of Augustus while the end of the works took place in 21 AD, under the rule of Tiberius. Today it is present in the coat of arms of the city. And it is the first stretch of the Via Emilia.
The Malatesta Temple, usually referred to by citizens as the Duomo and since 1809 became a cathedral with the title of Santa Colomba, is the main place of Catholic worship in Rimini. Completely renovated under the dominion of Sigismondo Pandolfo Malatesta, with the contribution of artists such as Leon Battista Alberti, Matteo de 'Pasti, Agostino di Duccio and Piero Della Francesca, it is, although incomplete, the key work of the Rimini Renaissance and one of the most significant architectures.
It was erected in Rimini, Italy. This is a triumphal arch built in honor of Rome’s first emperor, Augustus, by the Roman Senate. This triumphal arch was built in 27 B.C.E. This is the oldest standing arch in Rome. The arch has one barrel-vaulted entryway. It signaled the end of the via Flaminia, which connected the cities of Romagna to Rome, and spans the modern Corso d'Augusto, which led to the beginning of another road, the via Emilia, which ran northwest to Piacenza.
Fiabilandia is an Italian amusement park, located in Rivazzurra, a short distance from the Adriatic highway between Rimini and Riccione. The park has an area of approximately 150,000 m². The park opens the week before Easter and closes on the first day of November. The park area is crossed by a state road. The car park is sheltered by steel canopies, which act as supports for a large photovoltaic system.
Italy in Miniature is a miniature park dell ' Emilia-Romagna, founded in 1970 by Ivo Rambaldi. Now owned by Costa Edutainment Spa which also includes Acquafan and Oltremare di Riccione among its properties. It is located in the municipality of Rimini, in the Viserbella district. The central area of the park hosts over 270 scale reproductions of Italian monuments, churches, palaces, and squares and is immersed in a natural scale landscape made up of five thousand real miniature trees.
The Marecchia is a river of ' Northern Italy and gives its name to' namesake valley. The Marecchia is the ancient Ariminus which gave its name to Rimini. To date, its short stretch of plain and its mouth are conventionally used to mark the end of the Po Valley and the whole of northern Italy. The river originates in the municipality of Badia Tedalda in Tuscany from Alpe Della Luna, near the locality of Pratieghi on the Tuscan-Romagna Apennines.
Where is Castel Sismondo
Discover more attractions in Emilia-Romagna, where Castel Sismondo is located
Emilia-Romagna is a top European tourism destination, welcoming more than 11.5 million visitors annually and generating 50 million overnight stays. Its unique attractions – historical, cultural, artistic, social, industrial and economic – provide visitors with an authentic, all-round experience of the Italian lifestyle.