Attractions to explore nearby ETH Zürich Hauptgebäude
As of August 2018, 32 Nobel laureates, 4 Fields Medalists, and 1 Turing Award winner have been affiliated with the Institute, including Albert Einstein!
The Polybahn, also known as the UBS Polybahn, is a funicular railway in the city of Zürich, Switzerland. The line links the Central square with the terrace by the main building of ETH Zürich, and from which the railway derives its name. Previous names for the line include the SBG Polybahn and the Zürichbergbahn. The line is owned by the banking group UBS AG and operated on their behalf by the municipal transport operator Verkehrsbetriebe Zürich.
The Zentralbibliothek Zürich (ZB) is the cantonal, city and university library of Zurich. With over six million documents and more than half a million visitors per year, the ZB is one of the largest Swiss libraries. It currently houses some 5.1 million items, among these 3.9 million printed volumes, 124,000 manuscripts, 243,000 maps and 560,000 microfiches.
Predigerkirche is one of the four main churches of the old town of Zürich, Switzerland, besides Fraumünster, Grossmünster, and St. Peter. First built in 1231 AD as a Romanesque church of the then Dominican Predigerkloster, the Basilica was converted in the first half of the 14th century, the choir between 1308 and 1350 rebuilt, and a for that time unusual high bell tower was built, regarded as the highest Gothic edifice in Zürich.
The museum showcases the history of Switzerland from its beginnings up to the present day, giving an insight into the Swiss identity and the rich tapestry of our country’s history and culture, with temporary exhibitions covering issues of current interest. The museum itself affiliated with the Federal Office of Culture is located in the city of Zurich, Switzerland's largest city, next to the Hauptbahnhof.
The historical site of the Roman castle. Currently, there is very little of it remains, and it serves as a recreational space, a green oasis, and automobile free space in the old historic city center. Its elevated position makes it a favorite point for tourists to get an overview of the geography of old Zürich.
Limmatquai is a street in the Swiss city of Zürich. It is named after the Limmat, and it follows the right-hand bank of that river for about 1 kilometre through the Altstadt, or historical core, of the city. The street was once important for both road and public transportation, but today sections of it form a pedestrian zone shared with Zürich's trams, effectively forming a northern extension of the Seeuferanlage promenades that ring the shores of Lake Zürich.
The Rathaus was built from 1694-1698. It served as the seat of government and administration of the Republic of Zurich until 1798. The canton of Zurich owns it since 1803, and it houses both legislative chambers, the cantonal parliament as well as the City Parliament. It was one of the iconic buildings in this area and has so much historical significance.
This church is a landmark of Zurich. Legend has it that the church was built on the graves of the city’s patron saints, Felix and Regula. the Grossmünster church was the starting point of the Swiss-German Reformation led by Huldrych Zwingli and Heinrich Bullinger. The theological college then annexed to the monastery spawned what is now the University of Zürich.
Platzspitz Park is one of the oldest and most historical areas of greenery in Zurich. With the rivers forming natural barriers on two sides and the Swiss National Museum and its enormous brutalist extension, it’s remarkably easy to forget that you’re in the heart of a city.
Augustinergasse is one of the most beautiful historical, narrow streets in Zurich. With many well-preserved, colorfully painted bay windows, it provides an insight into the history of the city. It connects busy Bahnhofstrasse with the former Gothic Augustiner Church from the 13th century and continues to the "oasis" St.
Wasserkirche is a church built on a small island in the Limmat, situated between the two main churches of medieval Zürich, the Grossmünster and the Fraumünster, at the Limmatquai and the Münsterbrücke. The Helmhaus is an extension of the church to the north, first mentioned in 1253 as a court of criminal justice, at which time it was a simple wooden structure covering the eastern end of the bridge. It was one of the main tourist attractions in this area.
Bahnhofstrasse – Zurich's Shopping Boulevard You can find everything that your heart desires in Bahnhofstrasse: fashion, art, and Zurich specialties attract local residents as well as visitors. It was created after the construction of Zurich’s Main Railway Station.
One of the world’s leading private collections of clocks can be found at this Beyer Clock and Watch Museum. Around 260 very valuable exhibits present the history of timekeeping from 1400 BC to the present day: from sundials to water and tower clocks, Renaissance automata, magnificent pendulum clocks, elaborately decorated pocket watches, and the prototype of the first quartz wristwatch. Scientific navigation devices are also featured here.
Paradeplatz is a square at the Bahnhofstrasse in downtown Zürich, Switzerland. It is one of the most expensive pieces of real estate in Switzerland and has become synonymous with wealth and the Swiss banks, being the location of the headquarters of both UBS and Credit Suisse. The site of the square lay without the medieval city walls, and was incorporated into the town with the construction of the new ramparts in 1642. During the 17th century.
The Rigiblick funicular is one of two funiculars within the city of Zürich. Seilbahn Rigiblick lies to the north-east of Zürich. It connects the station of Zurichberg Hill to the lower stations in the town, which further connects you to other transport facilities like the tram and trolleybus.
The Museum für Gestaltung Zürich is the leading Swiss museum for design and visual communication. The museum reaches a broad national and international audience, at its two sites in the city of Zurich and through its touring exhibitions. Parts of its collections are housed opposite the museum's main building on Limmatstrasse, and in a commercial building on Förrlibuckstrasse.