Get Travalour for free on Google Play

3 Man-made Structures- Other to explore in Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes


The Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes administrative region covers an area of 69 711 km2 in the centre and east of the south of France. It is a collection of regions of diverse topographies, climates, natural resources, cultures, folklore, architecture, and languages.

Chemin de fer du Montenvers
Chemin de fer du Montenvers2 Rue du Pont Aubry, 72430 Chantenay-Villedieu, France

The Montenvers Railway is a 5.1-kilometer-long metric gauge Haute-Savoie French cogwheel railway line. It was inaugurated in 1909, and connects Chamonix-Mont-Blanc to Montenvers, a viewpoint over the Mer de Glace which allows tourists to access an ice cave. In 2009, with more than 800,000 travelers, this line was the most frequented tourist attraction in the Rhône-Alpes region.The line is operated by the Compagnie du Mont-Blanc , which also manages many ski lift facilities in the Mont Blanc mass

Mont-Blanc Tramway
Mont-Blanc Tramway571 Rue du Mont Lachat, 74170 Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France

Mont-Blanc Tramway is a mountain railway with a unique view of the Aiguilles de Chamonix and the Dômes de Miage to reach the Bellevue Plateau and discover some beautiful walks, ideal for families. Also, mountaineers and hikers use the tramway because it stops provide the jumping-off points for many trails. The line is 12.4 km long and has a rail gauge of 1,000 mm. It gives a nice view of the natural beauty of this area.

Place Bellecour
Place BellecourPlace, 69002 Lyon, France

The largest pedestrianized square in Europe, Place Bellecour is a famous UNESCO World Heritage Site that spans 15 acres and is characterized by its distinctive reddish sand. It was the sight of royal parades for the king and executions via the guillotine during the French Revolution. Although the square isn’t too spectacular in the daytime, give it another try in the evening when the Ferris wheel lights up in a display of vibrant colors.

Map of Man-made Structures- Other to explore in Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes