5 Iconic Buildings to explore in Upper Austria
Upper Austria is Austria's leading industrial region. As of 2009, it accounted for approximately a quarter of the country's exports.
Ars Electronica Linz GmbH is an Austrian cultural, educational and scientific institute active in the field of new media art, founded in Linz in 1979. It is based at the Ars Electronica Center, which houses the Museum of the Future, in the city of Linz. Ars Electronica's activities focus on the interlinkages between art, technology and society. It runs an annual festival, and manages a multidisciplinary media arts R&D facility known as the Futurelab.
Burg Clam was built in 1149 by Otto von Machland who owned all of Upper Austria. At that time it was a fortress consisting of two towers over 30 meters high. These two impressive buildings, one round and one rectangular, still exist in the very same shape today. It is still the residence of Count Clam and can also be visited as such. The visitors get an impression of what life was like in a castle.
Central Square Marktplatz today is an iconic example of Austrian architecture and a nexus of the town of Hallstatt. Visit the square, nestled within the city named to the World Heritage List, and wander among a host of old buildings marked by balconies and steep roofs. One of the iconic attraction in this area and also there are so many other options too.
A beautiful summer residence of the imperial family located in Bad Ischl. It became known in the nineteenth century as the favorite residence of Francis Joseph of Austria and his wife Sissi. The villa is surrounded by a large park in the "English Style". The architectural ensemble in its contemporary form was completed in 1860. Construction was significantly slowed by the fact that it could not proceed during the summer months due to the presence of the royal family.
Schloss Ort is an Austrian castle situated in the Traunsee lake, in Gmunden, 19 kilometre from Vöcklabruck, the gate to Salzkammergut. It was probably built around 1140 by the Lengenbach family, was first mentioned in 1201. Then it was a moated castle with 4 corner towers.