45 Man-made Structures- Other to explore in Ireland
A country in the north-western Europe. Ireland, or Republic of Ireland shares its only border with Northern Ireland, which is part of the United Kingdom. It is surrounded by the ocean in all it's other sides. About 40% of the countries 5 million population lives in the greater city area of Dublin.
This old graveyard known as the Famine Graveyard and also the Paupers Graveyard is the site of the burials of victims of the Great Irish Famine 1845-1849 and of the poor generally. There are no marked graves. There are probably hundreds of people buried here, possibly a thousand or more. It lay nearby the old Donegal Town Workhouse. A lone cross and a few plaques commemorate the burials.
Finn McCools Fingers are a set of five standing stones on Shantemon mountain in County Cavan. The name is derived from the story that giant Celtic warrior Fionn mac Cumhaill lost a hand in battle. The stones are arranged in a south-east/north-west orientation.
The Fintown Railway is the only operational railway in Co. Donegal. Set amidst spectacular highland scenery overlooking Lough Finn. It is the only operational narrow guage railway in County Donegal. The railway nestled deep in the heart of spectacular mountainous scenery steeped in tradition, myth and folklore, and running along the crystal clear waters of Loch Finn is a million miles from the constant rush of every day life.
The Glencolmcille Folk Village is a reconstruction of the historic homes and dwellings of the Glencolmcille area in South West Donegal. It is a cluster of several small cottages, called a ‘clachan’, perched on a hillside overlooking the sandy curve of Glen Bay Beach in the Gaeltacht of South West Donegal. Designed, built and maintained by the local people, the Folk Village is one of Ireland's best living-history museums.
Guinness Storehouse is a tourist attraction at St. James's Gate Brewery in Dublin, Ireland. Since opening in 2000, it has received over twenty million visitors. Guinness Storehouse building was once the fermentation plant of the brewery. Today it offers a Guinness experience. As you make your way through the space, explore the ingredients, history and culture that tell the Guinness story.
The Midleton distilleries complex is situated in Midleton, County Cork, Ireland. It is owned by Irish Distillers, a subsidiary of Pernod Ricard. Located alongside is the Old Midleton Distillery, which was established in the early 17th century and now operates as a visitor centre known as the Jameson Experience.
The Lartigue Monorail system was developed by the French engineer Charles Lartigue. line 17 km long was built in 1895 between Feurs and Panissières, in the French département of Loire. However the Lartigue system as built was not truly a monorail, since it was necessary to add two further rails, one on each side, lower down the A frames.
Located at the ‘end’ of the gap, if you walk from the Kate Kearny side, Lord Brandon’s Cottage is a welcome site for those that have conquered the first leg of the walk. Once a grand hunting lodge, the cottage has a tale of love and betrayal tide to it, which you’ll discover shortly.
A privately owned estate nestled in the picturesque surroundings of Co. Down offering a wonderful visitor experience including a café and trails. It is also home to an exotic plant collection initially created by ‘The Father of Irish Gardening’, Sir Arthur Rawdon. It is an iconic attraction in this area and invites all visitors.
Newmills Corn and Flax Mills is a grain mill located in County Donegal, Ireland.It features one of the largest operating waterwheels in the country. The mill is situated on the R250The oldest surviving building at Newmills is 400 years old and there have been mills at Newmills since the early nineteenth century. It steadily expanded to include a public house, a scutcher’s cottage and a forge.
MV Plassy, or Plassey, was a cargo vessel in the Irish Merchant Service, operating during the 1950s. It was built as HMS Juliet, a Shakespearian-class naval trawler of the Royal Navy at the start of the Second World War, and sold into merchant service at the end of the conflict. As Plassy it was wrecked in a storm off Inisheer, and is best known as the wreck seen on the foreshore of 'Craggy Island' in the TV comedy, Father Ted.
Port Oriel is a fishing port with a large fleet, and also the harbour provides a platform for onshore sea fishing for anglers. Port Beach in the centre of the village is a Blue Flag beach with the Neptune watersports centre which is run by the local Council. The centre is the location for Celtic Adventures which provides schools and groups with a range of sports and training services including watersports, archery and climbing.
The Ski Club of Ireland owns and runs the largest artificial ski slope in Ireland. It is located in County Wicklow close to the village of Kilternan. It has four ski slopes: a main slope , an intermediate slope and two nursery slopes. The slopes' surfaces are covered in Dendix, a by-product of brush manufacturing which is similar to a short haired brush with the bristles sticking upwards. It also offers ski lessons for all abilities.
One of the county's best known landmarks, and rising over 40 meters above the rocky shore, St. John's point lighthouse is listed as one of twelve the "Great Lighthouses of Ireland" by the Commissioners of Irish Lights, who operate it as one of the 65 active lighthouses on the Irish coast. Fully automated since 1981, the lighthouse has been painted black with two distinctive yellow bands since 1954, and operates a main light with a range of up to 29 miles.
This is Ireland's oldest volunteer-run heritage railway.This narrow gauge railway is the oldest established heritage railway in Ireland. They operate predominantly steam and occasionally diesel hauled trains on a 1km line through the forest on the Stradbally Hall estate. The line is open to the public on all Bank Holiday week-end Sundays and Mondays from Easter to October and on selected other days in connection with other local events.
The windmill was built in 1846 by Nicolas Moran and was used until 1936, making it the last windmill in the Republic to work commercially. It was renovated in the 1950s. It is the oldest working windmill in Ireland. Access is managed via the nearby pub, "The Millhouse Bar". Now a National Monument, almost all the timber used in construction was driftwood or timber from shipwrecks locally.
A majestic wooden roller coaster located at Tayto Park in Ashbourne, County Meath, Ireland. Manufactured by The Gravity Group, the wooden coaster features an overbanked turn and opened on 6 June 2015. With the figure of Ireland’s greatest mythological warrior emblazoned across the front of the rollercoaster, Cú Chulainn leads his passengers through an epic and thrilling experience like no other.
Leviathan of Parsonstown, or Rosse six-foot telescope, is a historic reflecting telescope of 72 inches aperture, which was the largest telescope in the world from 1845 until the construction of the 100-inch Hooker Telescope in California in 1917. The Rosse six-foot telescope was built by William Parsons, 3rd Earl of Rosse on his estate, Birr Castle, at Parsonstown.
The Mourne Wall was constructed between 1904 and 1922 by the Belfast Water Commissioners to define and enclose the catchment area for the newly constructed Silent Valley Reservoir. The wall is 22 miles long, 1.5m high and 0.8m thick and is constructed entirely of granite from quarries around the Mourne Mountains using classic dry stone wall techniques. It encloses 9,000 acres of mountainous terrain and is designed to keep farm animals away from the reservoirs and rivers that flow into them.
The Regional Cultural Centre, in Letterkenny, is a multi disciplinary arts facility developed by Donegal County Council. The distinctive glass and aluminium structure was designed by award winning Letterkenny based MacGabhann Architects. The centre incorporates a first floor art gallery, an auditorium with 150 retractable seats and full cinema facilities, three multi purpose workshops, two dedicated digital media suites, two small music rehearsal rooms and two foyer galleries.