Get Travalour for free on Google Play

Aberlour Distillery - 4 Things to Know Before Visiting

Banffshire, A95, Aberlour AB38 9PJ, UK

Man-made Structures- Other

Contents in This Page

About Aberlour Distillery

The Aberlour distillery is an active distillery with two wash stills and two spirit stills. Nowadays they have a yearly output of about 3.5 million litres. The Whiskies of the Aberlour distillery are usually all sweet with sherry, not smoky and more fruity then spicy. Since 1986, Aberlour Single Malt Scotch Whisky has won 58 Gold awards and 8 Trophies in the Tasting categories of two leading industry competitions: the International Wine and Spirits Competition.

Attractions Near Aberlour Distillery

Linn Falls
Linn Falls0.77km from Aberlour Distillery

The Linn Falls is a waterfall in Scotland. The Linn Falls is situated south of Aberlour, close to Aberlour distillery. There are well-maintained paths to the falls, although boots or wellies are required. In this area you can see lots of wildlife, as well as rare lichens and mosses. It is very close to a distillery and the high alcohol content of the air even affects vegetation nearby, making tree trunks darker, for instance.

Speyside Cooperage Visitor Centre
Speyside Cooperage Visitor Centre3.3km from Aberlour Distillery

The Speyside Cooperage is a cooperage located in Craigellachie, Aberlour, Scotland. Its visitor centre, the only such in Britain, is part of the Malt Whisky Trail, started in the early 1980s. Each year, it produces and repairs nearly 150,000 oak casks used by the surrounding Speyside Whisky distilleries, as well as distilleries elsewhere throughout Scotland. Owned by the Taylor family since its founding in 1947, the cooperage was sold in 2008 to the French firm Tonnellerie François Frères.

Craigellachie Bridge
Craigellachie Bridge3.34km from Aberlour Distillery

Craigellachie Bridge is a cast iron arch bridge across the River Spey at Craigellachie. The bridge was built by the famous engineer Thomas Telford between 1812 and 1814. It features two sets of mock-Medieval turrets, standing 15 feet high on each side of the river. The bridge was commemorated on a Royal Mail postage stamp in 2015.It also features in the artwork and logos of Spey Valley Brewery who brew an 1814 lager in commemoration of the bridge

The Balvenie Distillery
The Balvenie Distillery5.95km from Aberlour Distillery

The Balvenie distillery was built in 1892 by William J. Grant. The Balvenie, a unique range of single malt Scotch whiskies hand-crafted in Speyside using centuries-old skills passed down through generations. Balvenie makes whisky in the traditional batch process of the production of single malt. The use of locally grown barley is preferred, and it is floor-malted where possible. Of the 120+ distilleries in Scotland, Balvenie is one of only seven distilleries with its own malting floor.

The Keith & Dufftown Railway
The Keith & Dufftown Railway5.95km from Aberlour Distillery

The Keith and Dufftown railway is one of the most Northerly preserved railways in the country, and one of the longest and most scenic. this historic railway runs between Dufftown and Keith. The company was formed in 1857, the line was opened in 1862, and it was absorbed by the Great North of Scotland Railway in 1866. You can explore an area where the climate and geology are so suitable for malt whisky distilling that over half of Scotland's whisky distilleries are here.

Glenfiddich Distillery
Glenfiddich Distillery6.19km from Aberlour Distillery

The Glenfiddich Distillery based in Dufftown, Moray has been producing malt whiskey since 1887. William Grant is the founder of the distillery with it being built in 1886. Today, Glenfiddich remains the world’s best-selling single malt with sales in excess of a million cases a year.

Where is Aberlour Distillery

Discover More Attractions in Moray, Where Aberlour Distillery Is Located

61 attractions

Moray is one of the 32 local government council areas of Scotland. It lies in the north-east of the country, with coastline on the Moray Firth, and borders the council areas of Aberdeenshire and Highland.