Ayr Racecourse - 4 Things to Know Before Visiting
Whitletts Rd, Ayr KA8 0JE, UK
Contents in This Page
About Ayr Racecourse
Ayr Racecourse at Whitletts Road, Ayr, Scotland, was opened in 1907. There are courses for flat and for National Hunt racing. This Racecourse hosts numerous race meets throughout the year, but the two primary ones are over jumps in April and on the Flat in September. The Scottish National festival runs for two days every April and is a Grade 3 handicap National Hunt steeplechase race.
Attractions Near Ayr Racecourse
The Alloway Auld Kirk, which dates back to the 16th Century, is a ruin in Alloway, South Ayrshire, Scotland, celebrated as the scene of the witches' dance in the poem "Tam o' Shanter" by Robert Burns. William Burnes, father of the poet, is buried in the graveyard together with his wife Agnes and daughter Isabella as well as two of his nieces.
The Wallace Tower is a picturesque Gothic structure built to commemorate William Wallace at the time of an upsurge in the Scottish desire for self-determination. The tower is open to the public for an admission fee. Visitors approach by foot from the base of the crag on which it stands. On entry there are 246 steps to the final observation platform, with three exhibition rooms within the body of the tower. The tower is not accessible to disabled visitors.
A majestic municipal building in New Bridge Street, Ayr, Scotland. The town hall, which was the headquarters of Ayr Burgh Council, is a Category A listed building. Ayr Town Hall consists of the Town Hall, the Council Chamber and two Committee Rooms. The Town Hall can hold 641 people, the Chamber can hold 50 people and the Committee Rooms can hold 25 people.
Loudoun Hall is one of the oldest houses in Ayr, it is in the boat vennel not far fromn the river Ayr. Mary Queen of Scots stayed here in August 1563. It was one of Ayr’s finest and oldest public buildings, dating back to the 15th century. Its items included wall carvings of the motto of the 1st Earl of Loudoun, a ship’s rudder and a lead circle set into the paving stones , a tactile bronze model of the building, and a Scots pie cast in bronze.
St John’s Tower in Citadel Place is all that remains of Ayr’s medieval parish church, dedicated to St John the Baptist. The church appears to have been founded in the late twelfth century, and it was enlarged during the following centuries. In 1315 King Robert the Bruce convened a parliament or assembly in the church to decide the succession to the Scottish throne.
The Lang Scots Mile Walk was created in 2002 on the seafront of Ayr to commemorate the town's historical links with Burns as well as to encourage healthy exercise. It was estimated that a 10 stone man or woman walking Lang Scots Mile would burn off 115 calories and a 16 stone person, 184 calories.
Where is Ayr Racecourse
Discover More Attractions in South Ayrshire Council, Where Ayr Racecourse Is Located
South Ayrshire is one of thirty-two council areas of Scotland, covering the southern part of Ayrshire. It borders onto Dumfries and Galloway, East Ayrshire and North Ayrshire.