Royal Regiment of Fusiliers Museum - 4 Things to Know Before Visiting
St John's House, St Johns Ct, Warwick CV34 4NF, UK
Contents in This Page
About Royal Regiment of Fusiliers Museum
A majestic historic museum housed in a building originally built as officers' quarters. The museum tells the history of the County infantry Regiment. This includes the present Regiment, the Royal Regiment of Fusiliers and the antecedent Regiments going down the line of the Royal Warwickshire Fusiliers.
Attractions Near Royal Regiment of Fusiliers Museum
St John's House, a Jacobean mansion located in Warwick, has a history spanning almost 900 years. The land on which it stands was originally used as a hospital in the 12th century. It is now a museum, and has had a history spanning almost 900 years. To the side of the house is a small garden belonging to St John's and to the rear is the large St. Nicholas' Park. The museum is currently operated by Warwickshire Heritage and Culture's Museum Service, a branch of Warwickshire County Council.
St. Nicholas' Park, commonly known as "St. Nick's", is a park is situated in the centre of Warwick, England. Bordering the park to the south is the River Avon. It is a truly beautiful setting, and is perfect for picnics or simply a lovely walk. The lawns and gardens are ideal for a stroll or a sit down, and there are designated picnic areas as well as a tea shop serving snacks, meals and drinks.
The Mill Garden is a half acre informal cottage and private garden originally created by Arthur Measures, and lies in a superb setting beneath the walls of Warwick. It is owned by Julia Measures, whose family has owned the gardens since 1938 and whose father Arthur worked on it for 60 years. When the castle was being constructed the garden was often used as a stonemasons yard. Swans sometimes nest near the garden.
Warwick Castle is a medieval castle developed from a wooden fort, originally built by William the Conqueror during 1068. Warwick is the county town of Warwickshire, England, situated on a meander of the River Avon. It was used as a stronghold until the early 17th century, when it was granted to Sir Fulke Greville by James I in 1604. Greville converted it to a country house, and it was owned by the Greville family until 1978, when it was bought by the Tussauds Group.
The Collegiate Church of St Mary is a Church of England parish church in the town of Warwick, England. It is in the centre of the town just east of the market place. It is a member of the Major Churches Network. The church has the status of collegiate church as it had a college of secular canons. In governance and religious observance it was similar to a cathedral . There is a Bishop of Warwick, but this is an episcopal title used by a suffragan bishop of the Diocese of Coventry.
Market Hall Museum is a museum in Warwick. England. The Market Hall forms part of The Warwickshire Museum, alongside St John's House. The Warwickshire Museum is operated by Heritage and Culture Warwickshire. The museum features exhibits related to: natural sciences, coins and medals and archaeology.
Where is Royal Regiment of Fusiliers Museum
Discover More Attractions in Warwickshire, Where Royal Regiment of Fusiliers Museum Is Located
Warwickshire is a county in the West Midlands region of England. The county town is Warwick, and the largest town is Nuneaton. The county is famous for being the birthplace of William Shakespeare at Stratford-upon-Avon and Victorian novelist George Eliot, at Nuneaton. It is a popular destination for international and domestic tourists to explore both medieval and more recent history.