5 Sheinton St, Much Wenlock TF13 6HS, UK
About Wenlock Priory
Wenlock Priory was founded in the year AD 680 by the King of Mercia, Merewalh, for his daughter Milburga, who served as abbess until her death in 722. It was initially a double house, with quarters for nuns and monks. The impressive remains we see today were built between the early eleventh to late fifteenth centuries, bu the priory was not the first religious building on this site. Parts of the building became a house later known as "Wenlock Abbey", which is privately owned, but most of Wenloc
Attractions near Wenlock Priory
A beautiful little museum is located on the High Street opposite the Square. Its displays tell the story of the town and surrounding area, the links between Dr. William Penny Brookes and the Modern Olympic Games, and the geology of Wenlock Edge. It has been described by Mark Rowe of the Independent newspaper as "...one of the world's great little museums."
The National Trust's Benthall Hall, Shropshire, is a 16th-century stone country house with surrounding gardens. This fine stone house with mullioned and transomed windows was built in the late 16th century for the Benthalls. The garden is largely the product of two tenants. George Maw, local pottery manufacturer and crocus enthusiast developed the garden from around 1865 onwards. Subsequently, the Victorian era Romantic painter and sculptor Robert Bateman, who was the son of a famous horticultu
The extensive remains of the 12th-century Cistercian abbey of Buildwas stand in a water meadow beside the River Severn. It was founded in 1135 as a Savignac monastery by Roger de Clinton, Bishop of Coventry and Lichfield. Substantial remains of the abbey church and monk's quarters remain and are in the care of English Heritage.
Broseley was the centre of the clay tobacco pipe-making world – now this former factory is a time-capsule museum of the curious industry. The museum preserves the details of the industry of clay tobacco pipe making and has a display of clay tobacco pipes including the Churchwarden and Dutch Long Straw pipes.
The Museum of the Gorge, originally the Severn Warehouse, is one of the ten museums of the Ironbridge Gorge Museum Trust. It portrays the history of the Ironbridge Gorge and the surrounding area of Coalbrookdale, Shropshire, England. The site is at the Wharfage, just west of the village of Ironbridge. This location is also the confluence of the main manufacturing area of Coalbrookdale, and its non-navigable river, with the valley of the Severn.
This beautiful monument stands as one of the greatest symbols of where the Industrial Revolution started. Tourists have flocked here since 1779 to marvel at this extraordinary structure that dominates the small town that takes its name. Today it is closed to vehicle traffic but you can walk across it and enjoy the lovely views of the Severn Gorge. An exhibition within the original Tollhouse explains how and why the bridge was built.
Where is Wenlock Priory
Discover more attractions in Shropshire, where Wenlock Priory is located
Shropshire is a landlocked county in the West Midlands region of England. It is bordered by Wales to the west and the English counties of Cheshire to the north, Staffordshire to the east, Worcestershire to the southeast, and Herefordshire to the south.