Attractions to explore near Leeming Bar Station - Wensleydale Railway
Leeming Bar railway station is a railway station in Leeming Bar, North Yorkshire, England. It is the eastern rail passenger terminus of the Wensleydale Railway, though the line continues towards Northallerton. Trains are timed to link in with Dales and District service buses to Northallerton to connect with the National Rail network.
Thorp Perrow Arboretum offers you 100 acres of beautiful woodland walks, trails and glades to explore, and holds one of the finest tree collections in the North of England. t the Bird of Prey and Captive Breeding Centre learn about our birds of prey and associated wildlife. See owls and falcons born through our successful breeding programme during spring.
Kiplin Hall is a Jacobean historic house at Kiplin in North Yorkshire, England, and a Grade I listed building. It stands by the River Swale in the Vale of Mowbray. Kiplin Hall is rich in education, in architecture and art, a museum of history, a gallery and provides a biographical record of its past English country house owners. The nearest villages are Scorton, Great Langton and Bolton-on-Swale.
Jervaulx Abbey is a ruined Cistercian monastery located in a peaceful valley setting in the Vale of Ure, a few miles east of the Yorkshire Dales. Apart from its historical significance and the beauty of the location, Jervaulx is known for its horticulture; over 180 varieties of wildflower grow in and on the abbey walls. The place name Jervaulx is first attested in 1145, where it appears as Jorvalle. The name is French for 'the Ure valley' and is perhaps a translation of the English 'Ure-dale',
Hackfall is a stunning woodland site near Masham, with lakes, waterfalls, follies and an intricate network of paths to explore stretching along the banks of the River Ure. During the 18th century it was landscaped in the picturesque style by landowner William Aislabie, who created views by engineering streams and pools, planting trees and building follies.
Lightwater Valley in Ripon, North Yorkshire, is bursting with fun and adventures for the family to enjoy with over 30 rides and attractions. There is also fantastic family fun rides and attractions; including the Lightwater Express train ride around the park, Eagle's Creek Farm tractor ride, a selection of fairground and water rides, plus the Adventure Playground and Mini Sand Diggers.
The Himalayan Garden and Sculpture Park is home to over 80 striking contemporary sculptures, situated within 45 acres of stunning woodland and gardens. The Park features works by internationally renowned artists, all inspired by nature. The beautiful tranquil valley location is further enhanced by a Pagoda, Summerhouse, Norse Hut, Contemplation Circle and Himalayan Shelter, all complimented by three lakes and decorative bridges.
The World of James Herriot museum encompasses the very essence of the world-renowned vet. It offers visitors an unforgettable experience of the life and times of a man who became an international celebrity after the publication of his books. The museum is located in a 1940s period house with veterinary science exhibits. It was the original practice of Wight and his partners at 23 Kirkgate, known as "Skeldale House" in the books.
Middleham Castle at Wensleydale in Yorkshire was the childhood home of King Richard III. The castle was built to defend the road from Richmond to Skipton, though some have suggested the original site of the castle was far better to achieve this than the later location. After the death of King Richard III the castle remained in royal hands until it was allowed to go to ruin in the 17th century. Many of the stones from the castle were used in other buildings in the village of Middleham.
Set amid woodland in North Yorkshire, this unusual monastery is the best preserved Carthusian priory in Britain. The monastery consisted of a church and two cloisters. The Great Cloister, to the north of the church, had seventeen cells for monks whilst the southern Lesser Cloister had six cells for the lay brothers. Wander the ruins and discover how the monks lived 600 years ago in the reconstructed monk’s cell and herb plot. Explore the rooms of the Arts and Crafts manor house and then head out
Ripon Cathedral is a cathedral in the North Yorkshire city of Ripon. Founded as a monastery by Scottish monks in the 660s, it was refounded as a Benedictine monastery by St Wilfrid in 672. The church became collegiate in the tenth century and acted as a mother church within the large Diocese of York for the remainder of the Middle ages. The cathedral is notable architecturally for its gothic west front in the Early English style, considered one of the best of its type, as well as the Geometric
The Forbidden Corner is a unique labyrinth of tunnels, chambers, follies, and surprises created within a four-acre garden in the heart of Tupgill Park and the Yorkshire Dales. You can enjoy a day out with a difference that will challenge and delight children of all ages. Its bespoke themed play park is a new and exciting addition for your little explorers to enjoy.
Newby Hall is the family home of Mr & Mrs. Richard Compton, is one of England's finest houses, an exceptional example of 18th-century interior decoration. It is 3 miles south-east of Ripon and 6 miles south of Topcliffe Castle, by which the manor of Newby was originally held. A Grade I listed building, the hall contains a collection of furniture and paintings and is surrounded by extensive gardens. Newby Hall is open to the public.
A beautiful seventeenth-century brick house and a mainly twentieth-century garden by Major Edward Compton. It is 3 miles south-east of Ripon and 6 miles south of Topcliffe Castle, by which the manor of Newby was originally held. A Grade I listed building, the hall contains a collection of furniture and paintings and is surrounded by extensive gardens. Newby Hall is open to the public.
Sutton Bank is one of the most spectacular inland cliffs anywhere in Britain. The platform at the top of the bank is made of hard limey gritstone formed in the Upper Jurassic period. At the foot of Sutton Bank lies the village of Sutton-under-Whitestonecliffe; at 27 letters long, it has the longest hyphenated placename in England.
Nidderdale AONB is a beautiful landscape full of contrasts and rich in wildlife that covers 233 square miles of Northern England in the county of North Yorkshire. The landscape and valleys have been molded down the centuries by the practices of agriculture, mining, quarrying, textiles and so more. The area is said to contain "remains from over 6,000 years of human activity"; there is evidence of "almost continuous settlement over this time with the exception of the Roman period for which evidenc
The White Horse at Kilburn is a chalk figure carved into the hillside above this attractive North Yorkshire village. At 318 feet long and 220 feet tall, it’s the largest and most northerly white horse hill figure in the United Kingdom. It was created in 1857 and constructed by a local schoolteacher and his students
Bolton Castle is a stark and imposing medieval fortress at the entrance to Wensleydale, begun by Richard le Scrope in 1378. It was a grand family home as well as a defensive fortress and, despite being partially ‘slighted’ by Cromwell’s’ men during the Civil War siege, is still preserved in outstanding condition with many interesting rooms and features to discover. The castle is still in the private ownership of Lord Bolton, the direct descendant of the castle’s original owner Sir Richard le Sc
Brimham Rocks is an amazing collection of natural rock formations in North Yorkshire, managed by the National Trust. The site is known for its water- and weather-eroded rocks, which were formed over 325 million years ago and have assumed fantastic shapes. The site, notified as SSSI in 1958, is an outcrop of Millstone Grit, with small areas of birch woodland and a large area of wet and dry heath.
Scar House Reservoir is the second of the three reservoirs in Upper Nidderdale, England, the others being Angram Reservoir and Gouthwaite Reservoir. Between them, they attract around 150,000 visitors a year. The dam contains over one million tonnes of masonry, it rises to 55 metres (180 ft) above the river and is almost 600 metres long. It was completed in 1936.