Attractions to explore nearby Cambridge University Botanic Garden
The Cambridge University Botanic Garden is a botanical garden located in Cambridge, England associated with the university Department of Plant Sciences. It holds a plant collection of over 8,000 plant species from all over the world to facilitate teaching and research in an area of 16 hectares.
The Scott Polar Research Institute, established in 1920 as part of the University of Cambridge, is a center of excellence in the study of the Arctic and Antarctic. The Institute also houses the World's premier Polar Library, extensive archival, photographic, and object collections of international importance on the history of polar exploration, and a Polar Museum with displays of both the history and contemporary significance of the Arctic and Antarctic and their surrounding seas.
The Church of Our Lady of the Assumption and the English Martyrs, also known as the Church of Our Lady and the English Martyrs (OLEM), is an English Roman Catholic parish church located at the junction of Hills Road and Lensfield Road in southeast Cambridge. It is a large Gothic Revival church built between 1885 and 1890.
Cambridge Science Centre gives young people fabulous hands-on adventures in science and technology. The museum was opened to the public on 8 February 2013. Its first exhibition dealt with the electromagnetic spectrum and principles of sound and hearing. Its target audience is families and schools, particularly children between 7 and 14 years old.
The Fitzwilliam Museum was founded in 1816 with the most generous bequest of Viscount Fitzwilliam to the University of Cambridge, where he had studied. His founding collections of paintings, prints, manuscripts and library have been built upon over nearly two hundred years. Nowadays, the extraordinary Fitzwilliam Museum houses over half a million artworks and artefacts in a magnificent Grade I listed building in the heart of historic Cambridge.
Parker's Piece was the original home of Cambridge Town but is best remembered as being the nursery for the university. The grass is mown and the area is known today chiefly as a spot for picnics and games of football and cricket and serves as the games field for nearby Parkside Community College. Fairs tend to be held on the rougher ground of Midsummer Common.
The Sedgwick Museum of Earth Sciences is the oldest of the University of Cambridge museums, having been established in 1728 as the Woodwardian Museum. It gives a 4.5 billion year journey through time, from the meteoritic building blocks of planets to the thousands of fossils of animals and plants that illustrate the evolution of life in the oceans, on land, and in the air. The Sedgwick Museum is the oldest of the eight museums which make up the University of Cambridge Museums consortium.
The Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, also known as MAA, at the University of Cambridge houses the University's collections of local antiquities, together with archaeological and ethnographic artifacts from around the world. The collections of the Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology number more than 800,000 objects of outstanding research and historical value. In addition, there are over 100,000 field photographs and negatives in the Photographic Archive, and over 30,000 fonds of histor
The University Museum of Zoology is one of Cambridge's major attractions. Its brilliant galleries showcase the diversity of animal life, from marsupials to monkeys, mammoths and so more. The Museum houses an extensive collection of scientifically important zoological material. The collections were designated in 1998 by the Museums, Libraries and Archives Council. The building also provides a home for the Cambridge Conservation Initiative, a biodiversity project.
The Whipple Museum of the History of Science is a Museum attached to the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom It exhibits a vast array of scientific instruments dating from the Middle Ages to the present day. From microscopes and telescopes to pocket calculators and slide rules, find out more about the tools that scientists have used to understand the world around us.
The Mathematical Bridge is the popular name of a wooden footbridge in the southwest of central Cambridge. This bridge is built with entirely straight timbers, though it maintains an arch shape. This makes for some interesting architectural study while punting down the river below it. The bridge spans a 50-foot river using multiple shorter lengths of timber.
St. Bene’t’s Church stands on the eponymous street, close to King’s and Corpus Christi colleges, and The Backs, an area of parkland around the River Cam to the west. The church is dedicated to Saint Benedict of Nursia, the founder of the Benedictine order of monasticism. It is the oldest church in Cambridgeshire as well as the oldest building in Cambridge.
The Corpus Clock is one of the most distinctive public monuments in Cambridge and has been admired by residents and tourists since its inauguration in 2008. As a relatively new feature, it certainly stands out against the historic brickwork with its gold plated face, with many dubbing it as ‘the strangest clock in the world.’
King's Parade is a street in central Cambridge, England. King’s Parade is overflowing with culture. It might very well be the most quintessentially Cambridge street of all. It is a major tourist area in Cambridge, commanding a central position in the University of Cambridge area of the city. It is also a place frequented by many cyclists and by students traveling between lectures during term-time.
Christ’s Pieces is a park in Cambridge, at the intersection of the university and the mall – a quiet space amidst the city’s noise and complexity, dedicated to reflection. The area acts as an important publicly accessible open grassed area for the city center. It is east of Christ's College and to the north of Emmanuel College. To the north is King Street, to the east is Emmanuel Road, to the south is Drummer Street, and to the west is Milton's Walk.
The Museum of Classical Archaeology is a museum in Cambridge, run by the Faculty of Classics of the University of Cambridge, England. It is one of the few surviving collections of plaster casts of Greek and Roman sculpture in the world. The collection of about 450 casts is open to the public and housed in a purpose-built Cast Gallery on the first floor of the Classics Faculty.
Cambridge Market Square is the beating heart of this quaint city. The market is open for fresh food and produces plants, and cycle services. Make your way through the stands browsing the trinkets and shopping for food, with the impressive Church of St. Mary the Great in the background.
Market Hill is a 203-meter long street in central Cambridge that is known primarily as the location of the daily outdoor market that has been operational since Saxon times. Here you will find stalls selling a wide range of goods including clothes, books, fresh and healthy fruits, and vegetables, second-hand bikes, mobile phone accessories, and much more.
St Mary the Great has been a well- established church, in the very heart of Cambridge. is one of the Greater Churches. It is designated by Historic England as a Grade I listed building. The church also hosts the "University Sermons" and houses the University Organ and the University Clock.
King’s College Chapel is the oldest surviving building within the College site and perhaps the most iconic building in Cambridge. Work on this Chapel only started five years after King’s College was founded by Henry VI in 1441. Construction of the chapel started in 1446 and forced the relocation of Christ’s College – known then as God’s House, which was, at that time, on the site where King’s chapel now stands. It was one of the iconic building in this area and is attracted by many tourists.
The Cambridge Backs are an area of central Cambridge, along the banks of the river Cam, occupied by some of the most famous and prestigious colleges that form Cambridge University. It is a stretch of reclaimed land that runs along the back of the riverside colleges alongside the river Cam. It provides stunning views throughout the year, and is covered with a blanket of daffodils and crocuses during the spring.