Attractions to explore nearby Snuff Mills
A majestic and beautiful and diverse estate and park, combining woodland and riverside paths with historic parkland and excellent children's play facilities. The park includes an old quarry and a stone mill. Today it is a popular site for locals and visitors who come to enjoy the tranquility and natural surroundings
Glenside Hospital Museum is located within the grounds of the old psychiatric hospital, now used by the University of West of England as their Health and Social Care Campus. The museum, founded by Dr Donal F. Early, used to be situated in the balcony of the canteen, but has since re-located to the Glenside Chapel - a Grade 2-listed building. The museum is full of an interesting and growing collection of a wide range of artefacts and images from its past life, including objects from the former S
Stoke Park Estate is an extensive historic parkland in Stapleton. Most well known to Bristolians for the yellow Dower House that sits proudly on the hill as you drive down the M32. It’s an extremely popular dog walk nad also it has woodlands, extensive grassy fields, pond, fishing lake, sculpture trail and historic monuments so there’s always something to see.
Eastville Park is a Victorian city park with a fishing lake, lots of green space and children's playgrounds. The park is on the estate grounds of two former houses, Heath House and Ridgway House . There is a lake with a serpentine shape which is bordered by lawns and old beech trees
St George’s Park is a large Victorian suburban park with a pond, grass areas, large wheels park and a children’s playground. There is a banjo shaped lake fed by a natural stream. It has an island, which serves as the nesting place of swans, ducks and moorhens. Two tennis courts and bowling greens available for hire and so more facilities are available here.
St Andrew’s Park is a classic and luscious Victorian neighborhood park with a lot of green space and a children’s play area. The playground here is dog-free and has a sandpit, swings for toddlers, climbing frames, a slide, balancing rails, and more. One of the iconic location which gives you extreme peace and also makes your mind happy.
A beautiful hillside nature reserve overlooking the River Avon with fantastic views of Bristol and much wildlife. The hill contains a fascinating mix of history, wild plants, and animals. With heather and broom, rocky crags, spoil heaps and gullies, stunning views and two listed chimneys, Troopers Hill Nature Reserve is one of the most spectacular wildlife spots in the city.
The New Room, John Wesley's Chapel in Bristol is the oldest Methodist building in the world built-in 1739. As the oldest purpose-built Methodist meeting house, it has been designated by Historic England as a Grade I listed building. The new building offers a 40-seater café and shop on the ground floor, library and archive facilities on the first floor, and a conference/education center on the second floor. The museum tells the story of the Wesleys and Bristol in the eighteenth century and how
Castle Park is a public open space in Bristol managed by Bristol City Council. It is bounded by the Floating Harbour and Castle Street to the south, Lower Castle Street to the east, and Broad Weir, Newgate and Wine Street to the north. The park, despite not being a vast area has so much to offer and is a fascinating area of Bristol. Trees are a very important part of the park, and most have been planted within the last 40 years to enhance the park experience.
St James Priory is the oldest church in Bristol that’s still in daily use. It dates from the 12th Century. It has a fascinating story to tell and has witnessed almost a millennia of Bristol’s development. Today, it is an active church within the Catholic Diocese of Clifton, which until 1996 was a Church of England place of worship.
St. Peter's Church is one of the most dominant landmarks of Castle Park, in central Bristol. Believed to be the city's first church. It was bombed during the Bristol Blitz of 24–25 November 1940 and ruined. It is maintained as a monument to the civilian war dead of Bristol.
Bristol’s Temple Church Founded in the early 12th century to protect pilgrims in the Holy Land, the Templars were ‘warrior monks’, obeying religious vows of chastity and poverty whilst trained for war. It is on the site of a previous, round church of the Knights Templar, which they built on land granted to them in the second quarter of the 12th century by Robert of Gloucester. One of the iconic attractions in this area which attracts a lot of tourists.
St Nicholas Market is the oldest and best loved market in Bristol, famous for some of the best food in the city. ith over 60 stalls this market is a must see for any visitor to the city. St Nicholas Market is also home to several outdoor markets which take place in the pedestrian streets which run adjacent to The Exchange Building.
Christmas Steps is a historic street in the city center of Bristol, England. this is the location of unique shops, art galleries, potteries, makers of dresses, shoes, musical instruments, furniture, and much more. Inside this quirky tiered street, you’ll also discover a wealth of ancient buildings, independent art galleries, a cinema, and cosy pubs.
The Royal Fort House is a historic house in Tyndalls Park, Bristol. The building currently houses the University of Bristol's Faculty of Science offices, the Brigstow Institute, Elizabeth Blackwell Institute for Health Research, the Cabot Institute, and the Jean Golding Institute for data-intensive research. One of the iconic attractions and it attracts a lot of visitors.
Llandoger Trow is a public house that stands on King Street to this day. Originally a row of three houses, the pub survived a bombing in the WWII and remained in relatively good condition with three of its original five gables intact. The pub is also supposedly haunted, with up to 15 ghosts, the best known being a small child whose footsteps can be heard on the top floor.
Westbury College Gatehouse is a 15th-century gatehouse that once controlled access to a College of Priests. The gatehouse served as the main entrance into a complex of buildings based around a quadrangle. The gatehouse was built from 1459-1469 by John Carpenter, the Bishop of Bath and Wells as part of his ambitious plan to extend the earlier college. it is now one of the important monuments here and is visited by many tourists.