Attractions to explore nearby Mowsbury Hill
Mowsbury Hill is a 2.8 hectare Local Nature Reserve and Scheduled Monument in north Bedford. It is owned and managed by Bedford Borough Council with the assistance of the Friends of Putnoe Wood and Mowsbury Hillfort.
The Shuttleworth is an aeronautical and automotive museum located at the Old Warden Aerodrome, Old Warden in Bedfordshire. It is one of the most prestigious in the world due to the variety of old and well-preserved aircraft. The Shuttleworth Collection puts an emphasis on restoring as many aircraft as possible to flying conditions, in line with the founder's original intention.
Bedford Park is a Grade Two listed English Heritage Victorian park in the north of Bedford. Created in 1888 it is the largest urban park in Bedford and contains a lake, multiple play areas, and sports facilities. The park has many mature trees and shrubs, as well as herbaceous borders and naturalized bulb borders. One of the beautiful locations where you can spend some good times.
The Lea Valley Walk is a 50-mile long-distance footpath located between Leagrave, the source of the River Lea near Luton. From its source much of the walk is rural. At Hertford, the path follows the towpath of the River Lee Navigation, and it becomes increasingly urbanized as it approaches London. The walk was opened in 1993 and is waymarked throughout using a swan logo.
A beautiful museum that tells the story of the Bedford man who wrote The Pilgrim’s Progress, one of the greatest novels in the English language. It includes a mixture of sets and scenes highlighting key aspects if his life, and a wide selection of objects and examples of his works. The John Bunyan Library contains 3,000 books and is open by appointment to researchers.
The Panacea Museum is a beautiful Victorian house that was part of the community’s headquarters. It tells the story of the Panacea Society and other similar religious groups. The museum also incorporates several other buildings, set within the gardens, that formed the original community'scampus’. The museum is open every Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday between February half term and the end of October.
A majestic castle which was was first built as a motte in the 11th century, and later a shell keep was added, to be followed by a round tower with curtain walls. It was built by Henry I in a position overlooking the River Great Ouse. The castle remained a ruin until the urban expansion in Bedford during the 19th century when houses were built across much of the property. Today only part of the motte still stands, forming part of an archaeological park built on the site between 2007 and 2009.
The Wildlife Trust BCN mission is to create a wilder future by protecting and restoring wildlife and wild places across Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire & Northamptonshire, for the benefit of both wildlife and people. It aims to conserve wildlife, inspire people to take action for wildlife, offer advice and share knowledge.
A majestic church has a long and rich history, and stands on the site where there has been a religious building for over 1000 years. It is an admired and much visited attraction in the town centre and welcomes thousands of visitors and worshippers each year. The church is situated centrally in the town, just north of the river and on the current A6 running through Bedford.
Priory Country Park is a green space made up of lakes, meadows, and woodland which is in part enclosed within a bend in the River Great Ouse. There are habitats from meadows to reed beds, quiet walks for all, fishing, boating, play areas, and bird hides. This beautiful green area is set in a 360-acre ground and it attracts a lot of people.
Willington Dovecote is the most famous thing in Willington. It was listed by the former Department of Environment in July 1964 as Grade I, of exceptional interest. The cote and adjoining stable block are thought to have been built with stone from Newnham Priory. A signature on the stone above the fireplace in the stables reads "John Bunyan", but its authenticity has not been proven. They have a fascinating history and are well worth a visit.
The Moot Hall was originally built to serve Elstow Abbey as a market house but is now a museum. Built around 1550, this timber framed brick building is now home to the Aldeburgh Museum, as well as still being used for local council meetings. Sarah and her son recently visited Aldeburgh and just had to take a look inside this incredible building.