Tranvia di Opicina
34133 Trieste, UTI Giuliana, Italy
About Tranvia di Opicina
The Opicina Tramway, also known as "Opicina Railway", one of the tourist attractions of the city of Trieste, is a panoramic interurban tramway managed by Trieste Trasporti. A unique feature in Europe is that of having a steep slope of about 800 m along which the cars are pushed or held back by shield wagons tied to a funicular system. When in use, for most of the journey the line operates as a conventional, electrically powered tramway, with a mixture of street running and reserved track.
Attractions near Tranvia di Opicina
The Roman theater of Trieste is located in Trieste at the foot of the San Giusto hill, in the heart of the city, on the edge of the old city, between via Donota and via del Teatro Romano. The construction of the theater is dated to the end of the 1st century BC and enlarged at the beginning of the 2nd century AD It was probably built at the behest of the Trieste Quinto Petronio Modesto, procurator, and famine of the emperor Trajan, mentioned in several inscriptions.
Piazza Unità d'Italia is the main square of Trieste, located at the foot of the San Giusto hill, between Borgo Teresiano and Borgo Giuseppina . Rectangular in plan, on a total area of 12,280 m², it opens onto the Gulf of Trieste on one side and is surrounded by numerous palaces and public buildings, headquarters of various bodies: the Trieste town hall, the regional government building of Friuli Venezia Giulia and the prefecture of the capital.
The fountain of four continents was created in 1750 by Giovanni Mazzoli. The sculpture is a symbol of four then known parts of the world: Europe, Asia, Africa, and America. The fountain was an important source of potable water for the locals before the days of indoor plumbing, but even more importantly it was a grandiose monument to the power and glory of the pope and his family.
The Molo Audace is located on the banks of Trieste, in the heart of the city, a few steps from Piazza Unità d'Italia and the Grand Canal. It separates the basin of San Giorgio from the basin of San Giusto del Porto Vecchio. Back then the pier was shorter than it looks today; it measured only 95 meters in length and was joined to the ground by a small wooden bridge. In 1778 it was lengthened by 19 meters and in 1860-1861 by another 132 meters, thus reaching its current length of 246 meters.
The castle of San Giusto is a fortress - a museum located on the hill of the same name, in Trieste. As a historic residence, it was restored in the 2000s and used as a civic museum by the Municipality of Trieste, to which the structure has belonged since 1930. On Lalio bastion was opened on 4 April 2001 the Lapidary Tergestino consists of inscriptions, sculptures, bas-reliefs, and fragments of architecture from Roman times.
L ' Arco di Riccardo is according to some sources, one of the doors Roman of Trieste dating from the first century BC probably built in the' Emperor Augustus in the years 33-32 BC The forms of architectural decoration allow us to date the current form of the arc in the Claudian-Neronian or perhaps Flavian age. According to other sources instead it is one of the entrances to the sanctuary of the Magna Mater.
Where is Tranvia di Opicina
Discover more attractions in Friuli-Venezia Giulia, where Tranvia di Opicina is located
Friuli Venezia Giulia overlooks the Adriatic Sea and is surrounded by high mountains, enclosing many different landscapes. The great variety of landscapes matches the rich and variegated cultural heritage that was determined by a complex history and by the confluence of different civilizations in this territory.