Ponte degli Scalzi
Ponte degli Scalzi, 30135 Venezia VE, Italy
About Ponte degli Scalzi
The Scalzi Bridge is a structure in Istrian stone, with a normal arch, shoulders with columns of Istrian stone. The bridge connects the sestieri of Santa Croce and Cannaregio. On the north side, Cannaregio, are the Chiesa degli Scalzi ( and the Santa Lucia (Ferrovia) railway station. The south side is the sestiere of Santa Croce.
Attractions near Ponte degli Scalzi
The bridge of the Constitution is the bridge that crosses the Grand Canal of Venice between Piazzale Roma and the Venezia Santa railway station Lucia. The bridge, designed by Spanish architect Santiago Calatrava and built using mainly steel and glass, was opened to pedestrian traffic on the night of 11 September 2008. Tourists and locals in Venice now refer to it as the Calatrava Bridge.
Piazzale Roma is the main road junction to reach the historic core of the city of Venice from the mainland, inaugurated on 25 April 1933 as the junction of the new Littorio bridge, now the Liberty bridge. On the square facing an imposing garage in the rationalist style, which until the fifties was the largest indoor parking d ' Europe; in the vicinity of the square there are the Papadopoli Gardens.
The Scuola Grande di San Rocco is a building in Venice, northern Italy. It is a unique site, where over 60 paintings are preserved in their original setting in a building that has hardly undergone any alteration since its construction. Almost all the work is by Tintoretto, his assistant and his son Domenico, some of his main works include Sala terrena, sala superiore, sala dell’albergo. The building is especially famous because it is where Tintoretto worked for more than 20 years.
Basilica S.Maria Gloriosa dei Frari is a church located in the Campo dei Frari at the heart of the San Polo district of Venice, Italy. One of the most prominent churches in the city. Originally built between 1236 and 1338 by the Franciscan Conventual Friars, the structure was thoroughly re-modeled in the XIV century and given its present most magnificent form of the central nave, two side aisles, and seven apsidal chapels after the Franciscan-Gothic style.
Palazzo Mocenigo is a stately building in Venice, located at number 1992 in the Santa Croce district, along the salizada of San Stae. It is the seat of the Museum of Palazzo Mocenigo - Study Center of the History of Textiles, Costume and Perfume. The building consists of five levels: ground floor, mezzanine, two noble floors, and a mezzanine with an attic. The building also houses the Library of the Cinema Circuit.
Campo San Polo is the largest campo in Venice, second in size only to Piazza San Marco. The name derives from the church of San Polo which rises in the southwestern corner facing the apse. Initially, it was intended for crops and pastures. In 1493 it was entirely paved and the well was placed in the center of the field. After the pavement, it was used as a place for markets, fairs, and large meetings.
Where is Ponte degli Scalzi
Discover more attractions in Veneto, where Ponte degli Scalzi is located
The area was a part of the Roman Empire until the 5th century AD. Although being a heavily industrialised region, tourism is one of its main economic resources; one-fifth of Italy's foreign tourism gravitates towards Veneto, which is the first region in Italy in terms of tourist presence, attracting over 60 million visitors every year, second after Emilia-Romagna in terms of hotel industry structures.